We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$$$$$ But Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MASH

MASH
Bredgade 20, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark (Indre By)
+45 33139300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 1,542 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Winery, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By
Description: MASH – Modern American Steak House offers something completely new –a sophisticated modern american steakhouse with a twist of danish informal eating and drinking. The idea is to deliver an authentic steak dinner with lots of flavour served in very nice designed surroundings.MASH – Modern American Steakhouse – A sincere approach to elegant and refined dining set in relaxed and comfortable surroundings. We present a culinary pleasure and experience that will captivate the senses. The contemporary design of the restaurant is aesthetically pleasing on the eye, as are the outstanding meat cuts on offer.We welcome you to the MASH adventure.
NH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“$$$$$ But Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Big money for a steak - we spent over $500 for 4 people. If you can wait until you get home, then wait. If you can't wait the steaks are very tasty.
Outrageous wine list and pricing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    208
    66
    35
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
westport, Ct
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“American Steak House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I rarely choose to eat at a steak house as they are expensive and all about the same. I had the Danish dry aged ribeye which was fantastic. The sides were excellent. Pricey as steak houses go. Why eat here in Copenhagen? Predictable like an American steak house.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice food, absurdly expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Externally, this restaurant doesn't look like it would be of the expensive variety and maybe we should have checked the prices a bit more carefully before we went in but we were pretty shocked by the size of the bill when it came. One example being about £5 for an average size side dish of fries - I mean, how much does what amounts to 1 chopped up deep fried potato really cost?

The food was of a high standard but nothing incredibly special - it's just steak at the end of the day. The service was great too but we were placed next to a loud pair in a fairly empty restaurant (to begin with) which was a bit off-putting.

Go there if you're loaded, it's very nice but steer well clear if you want value for money. I know this review makes me sound cheap but I've eaten at some very upmarket places before and paid a lot less for better food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meat and lovely explaination from the staff on meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wine and meat! Very good! Lively place and good side dishes! Nice experience overall. the fact we could get an explanation on each piece of meat with the meat in front of us, is really helping and made it more exciting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greve
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“MASH Bredgade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I went there with colleagues. We had a splendid time here - the steak was just perfect and the same goes for the chips and sauce bernaise. The appetizer and desert were nothing special and I do find that the price for an drink before the dinner was expensive - a glass of rosé wine cost approx. DKK 100.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MASH also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
 

Been to MASH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MASH, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.