We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MASH

MASH
Bredgade 20, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark (Indre By)
+45 33139300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 1,424 restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Danish, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Neighborhood: Indre By
Description: MASH – Modern American Steak House offers something completely new –a sophisticated modern american steakhouse with a twist of danish informal eating and drinking. The idea is to deliver an authentic steak dinner with lots of flavour served in very nice designed surroundings.MASH – Modern American Steakhouse – A sincere approach to elegant and refined dining set in relaxed and comfortable surroundings. We present a culinary pleasure and experience that will captivate the senses. The contemporary design of the restaurant is aesthetically pleasing on the eye, as are the outstanding meat cuts on offer.We welcome you to the MASH adventure.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Very good steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

As someone else noticed, the interior isnt great. Its like sitting in a hall or a cellar, with lots of people around, everywhere. Wery masculine atmosphere, and a lot of large men did eat there, large, not around the belly, but muscel large.
Its not a place for most women to eat with there friends. But the steak was good, and the caesar salat very delicate. And a competent waiter offert good advise.
So all in all, a good experience, but I dont think that we will come there offent. Those kind of steaks is a one a year (at the most) experience. But great taste.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    163
    165
    44
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trikala, Greece
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Strictly for carnivores”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Although MASH has a rather unimaginative and dull interior, it offers really GREAT food. The burger was simply superb and the Uruguay steak was very tender, tasty and perfectly grilled. The sides were not all of my taste, most of them being more spicey and hot than my likes. Service was very fast, polite and friendly. Prices in the upper part, as expected.
All in all, a very good meat eatery, just give it a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very nice steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This modern meat restaurant has a very kind and beautiful staff and a nice meat. Very expensive for our wallets as it is around 50€ per person for a steak and a drink...then again this think with high prices in restaurants is a Danish usual!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Mixologists in a Contemporary Steak Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Yes the place is a bit of a North American import in style of menu (and pricey!) but must say that the bartenders seemed to be given free rein to design their own cocktails including the ingredients and very happy to chat about it. Food was great too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent Food- Excellent Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lets get to the point - probably the best steak house in all of Scandinavia. Great service, great food and a nice ambience once you can clear yourself out of the way too small bar waiting area where they park you to wait for a table. Our reservation was for 20.45 but we could not be seated until 21.30. So we spent nearly any hour and one bottle of wine in that cramped little bar (which did not have the best smells....).
The problem with this place is the price. We were two people. A relatively inexpensive wine and the bill came to nearly USD 500. MASH also charged me a USD 15 "service charge" for the "right" to use my non Danish credit card.
I know everything is expensive in Denmark. I've been living and working in Copenhagen for over 20 years. But with prices like these you better make sure you go with an expense account to back you up. Otherwise the cost / value equation is broken at this fine restaurant. It's simply over priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MASH also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to MASH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MASH, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.