We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely French atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Falernum

Falernum
Vaernedamsvej 16, Copenhagen, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)
Improve this listing
Ranked #404 of 1,545 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $6 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely French atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Only visited this place on mornings, when it was full of French-speaking customers having breakfast (there is a French school just opposite the place). Self-made buns were delicious. It seems to be popular in the evenings as well, since it was full of people on Thursday evening as I walked by.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Finding this place on Trip Advisor was excellent. It is seldom I get excited by vegetarian food, but this was a pleasant surprise. Look to Falernum and learn. Also the sausage plate was tasty and well composed. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Limited menu and slow, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This place has great atmosphere, cozy and shabby chic and full of locals (really full). The wine list is way more extensive than the menu, so, as I don't care for seafood, we just shared the cheeseplatter and had nice wine, in lieu of dinner. We were seated quickly, but getting our check was a mission.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ottimo ristorante & wine bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Just bumped into this little restaurant while hanging around the quarter. It's quite small and is a mix between restaurant & wine bar. It's very popular with the locals, as many tables were fully booked (take note - better call and reserve on crowded days if there's a few of you) .

Menu is short, about 4 or 5 choices with a fish of the day: a gazpacho when I was there. There's a good selection of wines, mainly Spanish and Californian with some Chilean. There is also a selection of beers, 4 coming from Spain.
Waiters are extremely friendly. At Saturday, when we were there, about 80% of clients were women chilling out and chatting.
Copenhagen is expensive to eat out, but I think this restaurant is fairly good. Meals for 2 came to DK335 with 2 brown beers

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cool bar and mouth-watering food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

A group of 6 of us visited this bar on a Sunday night and shared tapas and steak. The steak was honestly one of the best I have ever eaten - cooked perfectly and with delicious sides. Tapas were also amazing and so nicely presented on the plate. It was a last minute decision to try this restaurant but we were very, very happy and satisfied with our choice. The wine selection was enormous and staff were very helpful in selecting what we would enjoy. I would definitely recommend and will go back if I am in Copenhagen - I am still dreaming of the steak now!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falernum also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Falernum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falernum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.