We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better choices elsewhere - small portions of less than avg food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dong Yuan

Dong Yuan
Holbergsgade 17, Copenhagen, Denmark (Indre By)
33 32 83 88
Improve this listing
Ranked #735 of 1,546 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better choices elsewhere - small portions of less than avg food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Keep in mind that we are Chinese so we know the difference. The first sign of trouble is that the place has only 2 other tables of people at dinner and none of them are Chinese except for us. The second sign is that there are plates and forks/knives on the table instead of bowls n chopsticks. This place, while it has typical Chinese decor, caters to westerners. The menu proves it. A typical Chinese restaurant can tell you what the fresh vegetables of the day are and let you choose...the waiter looked at us blankly and said it was just mixed veg. He was also surprised we ordered Chinese tea...which is usually free at Chinese restaurants but here cost $40 kr. Portions are small...there's more food in a take away box for one than the plate of veg and plate of fish we ordered combined. It wasnt really enough for 2 people at all. The food was edible...nothing to recommend it except it was hot. If we weren't so tired and the fact it was close to our hotel, we wouldn't have stayed. We ate quickly n left as soon as we could. Better choices can definitely be had elsewhere! Btw, tips r included in Denmark so service is never that great anyways.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    2
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Lovely Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I really enjoy Chinese cuisine and this restaurant did not disappoint. The decor is beautiful and the restaurant is small so it has a nice intimate feel. The prices are reasonable and the menu is pretty big so there is something for everyone. I recommend getting the spring roll - it was so delicious!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious and well prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

My partner and I have been visiting Dong Yuan whenever we are in Copenhagen over the past 6 years. The tourist groups have tended to arrive early and leave by 7 from what I observe so we drop by after. The restaurant menu does have a few ethnic chinese dishes which can be quite foreign to those unfamiliar. Braised pork with soy sauce is stewed pork belly cubes and I simply love them with their simple stir fried oyster vegetables. Food is well prepared, arrives hot and fast. The lady waitress is friendly and remembers us. All very worth while.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awful food, bad services, been sick after”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

After seeking some place around the Nyhavn, we went to this restaurant.
The food was horrible : to much salt by a terrific use of sodium glutamate, overcooked meat and unpleasant jelly sauce.

The personnel is also not polite.
The room is not compatible with quietude : Teenagers were playing around the tables and talking out loud.

Few hours after this awful experience, I've been so sick that I have to tell the tripadvisor people not to go there.

If you ever want to go there, please, just do not go to the toilet.It's the worst I've seen in Copenhagen...

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Danish Chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Eating out is expensive in Denmark. The price here was reasonable but my Chinese is really bad and so was their English.So pointing to the menu was a requirment. Food was a little different from any Chinese I've eaten (been to China twice) but that is why we travel. It makes life interesting

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dong Yuan also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Dong Yuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dong Yuan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.