We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable first experience in Copenhagen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cap Horn

Cap Horn
Nyhavn 21, Copenhagen, Denmark (Indre By)
+45 33 12 85 04
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #232 of 1,539 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French, Danish, Scandinavian, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Indre By
Description: You will find Cap Horn a short walk down the cobblestone street of the charming quay, Nyhavn. Every day Cap Horn’s chefs prepare dishes based on the seasonal offerings of fresh produce. Cap Horn prefers to use organic produce and all of the ingredients are carefully selected with a focus on quality and with consideration for the climate and animal welfare.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable first experience in Copenhagen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

After the disapointment of the cancelled Neil Young concert we had an unplanned free first night in Copenhagen, The friendly girl greeting people was an initial attraction, (remember first impressions etc), we were politley offered a choice of indoors or outdoors. Our host the introduced herself for the evening, and the same girl as well as taking our orders often looked in on us as we had our meal. Menu was not too big, But covered the vegetarian, Fish and meat opitions. Quality of the food was excellent. For 2 glasses of champagne. 1 bottle of white wine. 2 starters, 2 mains, 1 sweet and 2 coffees. the tab was 1044 Kroner £122 ( the bill was actually coverted into pounds, dollars and Euros, so you could see at a glance what it cost). Not inexpensive by any means, but for what we had and the service and quality of food, I would expect to pay similar back in Edinburgh.
Would certainly come back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    276
    91
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stourport-on-Severn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Would recommend - very pleasant experience all round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Lovely meal, pleasant staff, even if you have to be inside you get the atmosphere from outside and we could hear the live jazz which was great. Recommend the 'lunch plate' and the homemade burger for lunch. Free aquavit is a must to try if you haven't had it before..just to enter into the spirit..

Didn't have children with us but other people with children seemed happy enough.

Don't go if in a hurry...service is competent but relaxed ... and the place is busy as everywhere in this street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eco-restaurant in Nyhavn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A restaurant with a eco-profile I have visit for three-four years. Exellent danish sandwiches for lunch and hot food for dinner. Nice and friendly service but sometimes the service is slow, but a good place for time to talk.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Me and my partner went for dinner here and absolutely loved it. I had lamb to start and it was very delicious, followed by steak, which was cooked perfectly. Even when it was very cold outside it was very warm inside and they have a fantastic fire and we sat by the window with a great view. I 100% recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Md
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Good Lunch, Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were touring the Hyhavn area and needed a small bite. We had been "warned" about the high prices and lousy food they feed to tourists along this strip, but were hungry and tired, so we gave in! The location is prime; picturesque and perfect for people watching. We were not starving (and were watching our dkk!) so we ordered 2 beers, water and a lunch plate to share. The lunch plate was a sandwich trio..roast beef, chicken salad and shrimp salad. They were all served on excellent bread with bacon, greens and other sandwich garnishes. They were all quite tasty and pleasantly loaded. Not top 10, but not crappy either. We were satisfied, drank some good beer, rested our feet and enjoyed our time very much. The staff was very prompt and kind. The bill was 295 dkk, about 50.00 dollars. Certainly pricey for what you get, but that's the way it is in big cities when you're on vacation!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap Horn also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Cap Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap Horn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.