We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food in a cosy setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Davids Bistro

Davids Bistro
Aarhusgade 22, Copenhagen 2100, Denmark (Østerbros)
+45 46 321 321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #370 of 1,657 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Østerbros
Description: Welcome to DAVIDS BISTRO. A classical bistro restaurant with a twist and attitude.Enjoy our old fashioned recordplayer with old jazz records while you eat a nice juicy steak and slurbing fantastic redwine...
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Really good food in a cosy setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We went in a group of 4 and had a wonderful meal. The service and atmosphere were also superb, our waiter suggesting and letting us try several wines before we decided, which was helpful and we found a delicious wine. The food is very French inspired and authentic and we were all very happy with our meals, the desserts too, were out of this world. Lovely place, off the beaten track and busy but comfortable. The only gripe I have is that the chairs are unconformtable ! But it doesn't really matter, everything else makes up for it. I highly recommend this place for delicious homecooked French food cooked to perfection. Outstanding !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“OK service, good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The waiter was OK, but with a slight attitude -- somewhat typical french :)

The food was good but nothing spectacular.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A really nice meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Ate here with my father on a week day and had a really good meal. There was no surprises or anything extra ordinary about it, but the taste and quality was great. The waiter was not the most forthcoming or warm person, but did deliver fine service. Atmosphere was cosy and french as you would expect from a french bistro.
Based on our evening I would give this 3,5 and recommend it to anyone up for a good rather traditional meal from the french kitchen in a pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the heart of Osterbro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We loved David's Bistro. Packed neighborhood restaurant on a Friday night. I am glad that I made a reservation. David emailed me ahead of time as I have gluten / corn / mustard / dairy issues here in the US. The chef wanted to make me GF bread. I loved the bread! I am very appreciative of this gesture. I had the fish entree with potatoes and greens. Great meal! We will be back next year when we visit Copenhagen again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing...well meaning, but not up to scratch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Friendly staff, cosy atmosphere, decent wine list - so far, so good. The small menu gave us hope that the produce on offer would be high quailty, fresh and well prepared. Sadly not the case. Service was patchy, amateurish, if well-meaning - they forgot our wine, then broke the cork and seved the wined with pieces floating in it. The starter, anchovies in olive with grilled lemons, was unremarkable, the anchovies tasted like they had come out of a cheap tin from a low cost supermarket. The entrecôte, which slunded so good, asked for medium rare, came out rare, tough, fibrous and pretty tasteless - very disappointing at DKK 284 ($51). Side salad and bread were good, but overall, given the price, the meal was underwhelming. So saf, we have mived here and were hoping David's could become a local. Might go back, to see if we caught the kitchen on a bad night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davids Bistro also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Oesterbro, Copenhagen Region
 

Been to Davids Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Davids Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.