We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little on the stiff side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Koefoed

Restaurant Koefoed
Landgreven 3, Copenhagen 1301, Denmark (Indre By)
+45 56 48 22 24
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurant Koefoed is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 1,657 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $165
Cuisines: French, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By
Description: Vi bor under gadeplan i lyse og smukke rammer med hvaelvede buer og hyggelige kroge. Vores gaester kan bade finde et stille hjorne for to og nyde at vaere del af et storre selskab. Pa Restaurant Koefoed byder vi pa dejlig mad & vin, den bedste service og de hyggeligste omgivelser.
New York City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A little on the stiff side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The place is pretty but a little formal and perhaps a bit too quiet for our taste. The food was good, but did not seem elevated to the level of the prices. The starter was fun; a tiny soft cooked egg with a tiny fried fish ball served enclosed in a mason jar filled with smoke to infuse a smokey flavor. That was very inventive and delicious. I started with the scallops which were served cold with green Mellon and green strawberry. They were good, but I liked my husbands chicken with asparagus starter much better. I had the beef for my main course which was served with an intensely concentrated balsamic reduction. It was good, but nothing to rave about. Too overpowering perhaps. His lamb was better as well but was still not anything I would urge a friend to order. Think of a refined lamb shank formed to a perfectly shaped patty of nothing but well trimmed meat served in a broth of lamb juice. The portions were more than enough to share and I could not finish mine. Certain foodies will definitely love this place but it is just not my thing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    53
    27
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely culinary experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Located below street level, the restaurant is nicely appointed. We did a tasting menu with wine. The food and wine pairings were lovely. The restaurant specializes in recreating the flavors of Bornholm with many of the ingredients coming from there. A real treat if you are looking to try a variety of Danish inspired food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surpassed expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went for a business dinner in an attempt to show some visitors some 'new Nordic' cuisine without wanting it to be too weird, high-end foodie (or expensive) and found the perfect spot. We had the 5 course tasting menu (including an fantastic, unannounced pre-starter) and everything hit the spot.

Innovative cooking, great interpretations of Danish (Bornholm) dishes and ingredients, super service and a reasonable bill. I even left the wine suggestions with the server who hit the perfect spot in terms of choice and price everytime.

Highly recommended if you want something a little different and high quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited this enjoyable restaurant for lunch and ordered the 'lunch plate' (frokostplatte) with most of the ingredients originating from the Danish island, Bornholm. It was really splendid including five offerings from the menu in smaller portions: The hering was fantastic delivering the most exquisite taste and the salmon was right on that high level as well.
Next, the chicken salad (the Danish way) with crispy bacon also performed really well and the roastbeef joined the same high notes. Rounding up the plate, the blue cheese emphasized itself in excellent taste and texture. All in all a five star experience.
We enjoyed a lovely dark beer, from Svaneke at Bornholm, naturally, and rounded up with coffee and sweets, the latter presenting some of the more daring experiments from the kitchen, I would say, but interesting, however also relatively expensive compared to its rather small size.
Our young waiter did his job in a pleasant maner presenting the menu etc. A nice guy. Interior is comfortable, you can also sit outside if the weather invites you.
The bill was 800 DKK, which equals 106 euros. Not the cheapest in town (it also benefits from several years continuous Michelin recommendations), but food-wise justly one of the best restaurants for lunch, which makes Koefoed a solid 4+ when you consider it all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Autriche
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice, but overrated..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I agree with several of the other ratings as regards the quality of the food, and it's quite admirable and trendy to focus on local and organic products. Despite these facts, I regret to say that both the atmosphere and the prices were all but natural, somehow I felt I even even got caught in a trap, lots of hay and smoke in my plate but little real value for the money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Koefoed also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Restaurant Koefoed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Koefoed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.