We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting bldg and history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Det Lille Apotek

Det Lille Apotek
Store Kannikestraede 15, Copenhagen, Denmark (Indre By)
33125606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #283 of 1,545 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Indre By
Orlando
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Interesting bldg and history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the hotel. Found it with a map and on one of the pedestrian streets in Copenhagen. Fish and chips were great. Nice selection of beers, wines by the glass limited but found a good chardonnay. Service was typical - once they deliver the food, they don't show up again until you have to flag them down for the bill. Our waiter did give us a booklet on the history of the restaurant which we appreciated. Would recommend

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    108
    43
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thurso
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Reputedly the oldest restaurant in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Serving traditional Danish dishes, the restaurant dates back to 1792. There is a great atmosphere in this dimly-lit, set-down from the street restaurant. There are stained glass windows and lots of things to look at while dining. The ladies WCwas quirky - with the toilet installed up a step at a jaunty angle!
The menu is not extensive, making it easier to choose. The pork-paprika stew which we really wanted to try was not available but I had the roast pork and what a portion it was, with red cabbage and prunes and caramelised potatoes. Very tasty. The fish was also perfectly cooked. One of us took Wienerschnitzel and despite being large, it was found to be dry (gravy was provided with it).
I would love to come back here and try the Pork-Paprika. The local beer on draught was excellent too. The whole meal was not too pricey either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Traditional and atmospheric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This restaurant was almost cave-like, sunk into the street and dimly lit inside. Very atmospheric :) Loved the stained glass windows and the cosiness of the place. I had smoked herring and other fish and little plates and bowls of typical Danish food. Lovely but an acquired taste for some of it! Waiter was lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had searched for a small typical danish restaurant and we found it at "Det lille apotek". The restaurant is small so it's better to have a reservation. In summer you can sit outright. The food was excellent - you've got a hugh selection. The brew their own beer - great. They are not so expensive like the restaurants for example at Nyhavn. The restaurant looks great with old the old stuff and books. If you visit Copenhagen you have to go and eat their...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Best Danish dinner on town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have visited this place loads of times, and every single time i've been there has been a wonderfull evening. Nice, cosy place and if you want to try one of their best dishes, try flæskesteg! It is the Best one in town.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Det Lille Apotek also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Det Lille Apotek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Det Lille Apotek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.