We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mexican flod in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Viejo Mexico

El Viejo Mexico
Store Kongensgade 61, Copenhagen DK 1264, Denmark (Indre By)
+45 33 93 00 61
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 1,545 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $10 - $42
Cuisines: American, Mexican, South American, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Indre By
Description: Winner of Tripadvisor 2014 Certificate of Excellence! Upscale Mexican restaurant located in one of the best areas, close to Queens Palace. Announced as the best Mexican restaurant in Copenhagen by Borsen, one of the well known newspapers in DK. High quality, nice atmosphere, professional and service minded staff have made El Viejo Mexico to one of the most famous Mexican restaurants in Copenhagen. We probably have the best selection of premium Tequilas in DK plus a nice selection of Mexican beer and wine from famous European and overseas houses.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“Best mexican flod in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We enjoyed our dining out!! Muuums... We Will be back. It was nice and cozy. The atmosphere is unquestionable. And the menu 1, that they have, is by far the greatest flavor combination I have had by far. If you are in town, don't miss this well hidden mexican pearl.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    47
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
1 review
“Girlsevening in december”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Fantastic food and service with absolute high class like a 5 star restaurant! The staff was really good of making the right winechoice to the food. And an extra star for the best Mojito I have ever tasted! I really recommend everyone thats comming to the restaurant to start with a Mojito, and after that I recommend Menue 1 with Fajitas. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtownards, northern ireland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, loved the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Surprised when we visited, this place was empty. It shouldn't be. Funky decor, professional and cheerful staff, great to chat to, upbeat latino pop music as background. Lovely presentation of the food, and delicious! We love mexican food and are fussy, this was perfect. Good value, and nice very authentic cocktails too (try their Mojito and Caipirinha!). We loved it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“mexican is not just supermarket tortilla chips...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

On a busy-ish road, nice looking from outside, but with terrible service, slow and unhelpful, failing to inform us the kitchen is closing before our desserts, than claiming card terminals are down in whole cph and forcing us to go out and search for a cash machine.... Food was also quite uninspired, with the exception of the salsa, which was terrible. Will not be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sina B, Manager at El Viejo Mexico, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Unfortunately that is one of the disadvantages of dinning late. You may not be finished if you chose a three course menu. The restaurant has to be closed at 2400 and the staff informed you ahead of time, so you do not end up paying for the dessert and not having it, which I think is very service minded. The rules are strict and follows by huge fines if you do not apply it and we hope our guests understand that.You guys booked a table very late and were half an hour late without even calling and informing us. But we did accept you guys without any doubt. And through out the night many of your collegues were more than satisfied with everything. The food and Tortilla chips and the rest is homemade and to be honest with you, this is the first time our guests call our tortilla chip, supermarket chips,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Give et a try!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nice, good quality mexican restaurant in Copenhagen!!

We enjoyed our visit and will recommend it to everyone we know!

Good Mojitos and Fajitas. Fresh and delicate!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Viejo Mexico also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to El Viejo Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Viejo Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.