We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best American food in Esbjerg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bones

Bones
skolegade 17, Esbjerg 6700, Denmark
75 13 61 18
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 58 Restaurants in Esbjerg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best American food in Esbjerg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Our favorite place for burgers and especially spare ribs.
Service is usually fine - unless they are very busy. I like looking at all the US memorabilia they have exhibited. Recently the prices have been stepped up a bit from already a bit steep - so we are boycotting them a bit. Tip: Go there Saturday for lunch (only day open for lunch) the prices are lower for lunch.
Favorites are the Big Boy Burger and the ribs!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Korsoer, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average discount meat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great soft ice bar. Friendly staff.
Food ok to the price. Not high quality expected, so not disappointed. The ribs are good and plenty.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best ribs I have had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I work in Esbjerg most weeks, and so am trying out places to eat. But I always go back to Bones, as unlike the Dronning Louise, I can be sure of getting a table here.

The food is good, the ribs exceptional, good salad bar, good service with a menu in English. Can be noisy early in the evening as it is popular with families, but I have found them to be better behaved than in UK.

Like most places in Denmark, it is pricey, but I think for the quality of the food and service, worth the money. The Route 66 choice is a good sampler for what Bones does.

That I go back week after week is recommendation enough I think.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best ribs in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great meal and a great ambiance.
Ribs were the best in a long time. the salad bar and ice cream kart were excellent. the beer was expensive but its the same for the whole country. Staff were very good at their job.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Not a great deal of choice on the menu. Have eaten there several times and have no complaints. Meals are plentiful and are very tasty. Staff always happy and provide a good service. Cheap meals if you eat before 7pm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bones also viewed

Esbjerg, Esbjerg Municipality
Esbjerg, Esbjerg Municipality
 
Esbjerg, Esbjerg Municipality
Esbjerg, Esbjerg Municipality
 

Been to Bones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.