We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hjerting Badehotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hjerting Badehotel to your Saves list
Hjerting Badehotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strandpromenaden 1, Esbjerg 6710, Denmark   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Esbjerg
Certificate of Excellence
Nefyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice location and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

A nice boutique hotel right on the cost with wonderful views and the beach in front of the hotel.

I stayed in a standard room which was basic but comfortable. Not a fan of wooden floors in hotel rooms as it makes them noisy. That's the big issue noise travels very easily around the rooms.

If you have noisy guests you can't help but hear them.

The food in the restaurant and Ship Inn is very good. With a nice friendly atmosphere.

I would recommend you get on of the chalet rooms as looking in on them they look wonderful and you would avoid the noise issues.

Great location and I will stay again

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    48
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
47
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here on business in January. -2 degrees outside but warm and cosy in the hotel, the room I had was functional rather than luxurious and I could not fault it apart from the towels that were a bit threadbare. I have to make special mention of the food and waitress service, it was very good indeed and someone has put a lot of work into the training of staff. I was on a diet but could not resist the first class steak. The waitress poured the wine absolutely perfectly and certainly knew what she was about. The only one I have seen do it correctly in years.
The hotel bar is frequented by locals who all speak excellent English.

Room Tip: most rooms have a sea view but ask for one anyway. Long way into town but a bus service passes the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I ate at the Hjerting Hotel in May and wrote a very favourable review, when it came to returning to Esbjerg with work I decided to stay here and what a great decision it was.
The rooms are fantastic, very homely in a Scandinavian way with a seaside flavour.
Breakfast is traditional Danish with great cold cuts and good coffee. I ate at the Ship Inn cafe which offers food all day and is slightly less expensive than the restaurant. The bar is also a nice spot to relax.
The hotel staff are great people, keen to help and a credit to the hotel, so good that I intend to write a letter to the owner telling him what a credit his staff actually are.
I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The suits at the front are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was booked to stay here for one night as my job took me nearby. I was lead to believe that this was the most expensive and best hotel in Esbjerg, so I was expecting much.

The hotel has two car parks, no trouble where to leave the car, the welcome was warm and I did not need to show a credit card before getting my room keys.

The room was nice enough, sadly I had a view of a car park rather than the beach and sea, but hey, can't have everything. I was able to work via the free wi-fi, and was not booted off it at any point.

I was recommended to eat in one of the two restaurants in the hotel, The Ship Inn, which was OK. However getting service took some time, but once I had a table the service was good and the food quickly arrived. Plenty of locals seem to eat here which is always a good sign.

There was also a good selection of local beers, both draught and in bottles. The one drawback was there seemed to be a smoking room, which came as something of a shock and the smell did leak into the rest of the bar.

I did get a good night's sleep, although the hard floor of the corridor outside the room meant that i heard everyone who walked up and down untilI put in some ear plugs, but then I am a light sleeper.

In the morning, the breakfast bar had limited choice, which came as a disappointment, so after a coffee and a cheese roll I checked out and left for work.

Room Tip: As for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Frankly I haven't stayed at the hotel itself but the location and breathtaking view would certainly make me chose this one for a romantic weekend. I had lunch at the restaurant which allows you to enjoy the landscape, leave alone a wonderful lunch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Two very good restaurants with different menus and styles. The more formal dining room has magnificent ocean view. Food is very good although expensive; service is very good. Breakfast buffet is wonderful. The other restaurant is informal, has a nice selection of seafood but is a little difficult to make a reservation.

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms are worth the view but get second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stay in Esbjerg a lot and wanted something different to the city centre hotels and Hjerting Badehotel provides just that. It gives the perfect impression of something away from the chain hotel formula. Small but nicely decorated rooms make it a pleasure to stay in and if you want a beach front location this doesn't get any better.
The restaurant and bar area is a pleasure to pens an evening drinking and dining in and the whole stay is made better by courteous helpful staff.
I'll definitely be here next time I'm in Esbjerg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esbjerg
5.4 mi away
Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel
#3 of 14 in Esbjerg
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
21.1 mi away
Ribe Byferie
Ribe Byferie
#1 of 6 in Ribe
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#7 of 14 in Esbjerg
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Scandic Olympic
Scandic Olympic
#5 of 14 in Esbjerg
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabinn Esbjerg Hotel
Cabinn Esbjerg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Esbjerg
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
6.6 mi away
Billum Kro
Billum Kro
#1 of 1 in Billum
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hjerting Badehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hjerting Badehotel

Address: Strandpromenaden 1, Esbjerg 6710, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Esbjerg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Esbjerg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hjerting Badehotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hjerting Badehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hjerting Badehotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.