We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Olympic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Olympic to your Saves list
Scandic Olympic
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Strandbygade 3, Esbjerg 6700, Denmark (Formerly Scandic Olympic Esbjerg City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Esbjerg
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“a nice break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for one night with my wife and daughter as part of a Scandinavian seaways break. The hotel was clean and comfortable. We had a good view of the harbor from our room.
my daughter(5) received a large pack of goodies from reception on check in. she loves the hotel mascot siggee.
all the staff were polite, efficient and helpful.
the breakfast included in the price was very good and filling.
we would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    27
    15
    4
See reviews for
7
8
5
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cahir
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The staff are what make this hotel .It is really just an upmarket travelodge but it has very friendly staff .Ist floor is to be avoided if possible .Its ok for one night but longer than that is a bit much
Food is ok
Hotel is mainly used by business travellers and probably isnt great for families but there are much worse places out there and the staff make up for whats lacking

Room Tip: Top floors are by far the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My employer booked this up, and after this trip, ven with frequent user points, I will go elsewhere.

As is typical with Scandics, the hotel is a bland block, but it is situated near the town centre. Parking is troublesome, as the hotel does not have any, except at a daily rate, free p[aring is availableover the road but spaces can be hard to get if you arrive late.

My welcome was warm enough, and in fact the stafff are fine. I went to my room, which is comfortable enough, except it feels like it has not been renovated since being built, as it has a 70s radio alarm thing still stuck to the wall. But, the TV and free wireless internet works well.

Food is, well, and lets be honest here, Scandic Hotels don't vary the menu much, so you know what to expect as the menu is the same at most locations. However,last night of my stay, the management tried laying on a buffet style meal which consisted of overcooked and cold chicen in tinned beans, mashed potatoes and salad. I had worse whilst in the Air Force frankl, and had I have known how poor it was going to be I would have gone elsewhere.

As I am in town again and staying at the Britannia, I will not be staying at the Scandic again. Shame as the staff work really hard to make it work.

Room Tip: Other hotels are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

The room was very old and smelly, also having a big dirty window pointing directly towards the street without any day curtains. Breakfast experience is poor as well; eating half baked bread and fightig over a free clean spot while it wasnt that busy. Next time go to Britannia Hotel, not that much more expensive but a completely different world.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The room first given to us was kind of smelly and worn down. In fact the entire floor had an unpleasant smell.

My luck is that its my third stay here, so I asked for to get a new room - that is one of the recently refurbished rooms. Here everything had a new and fresh smell and I have nothing to complain about.

When staying at the hotel we were a total of 15 guests so I was a bit puzzled why they would not let all guest enjoy a decent room. The price is the same anyhow.

Breakfast was included and it was slightly above normal Danish breakfast standard.

Free wireless internet.

All in all I would say that the impression was a bit above average and I would not mind returning again.

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get one of the old rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is very convenient for people working in the port, and is only a very short walk from the town centre bars and restaurants.

The food in the hotel is also very good if you can't be bothered walking into town.

Some rooms are newer and better refurbished than others. I've not figured out which yet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Had a room on the 5th floor which was very clean. Plenty space in the bathroom. Retaurent was nice with good selection of food available. Staff very friendly with quick service. Recommend hotel for a short stay. It is right next to main road so during the day, the noise level could be an issue.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Olympic

Address: Strandbygade 3, Esbjerg 6700, Denmark (Formerly Scandic Olympic Esbjerg City)
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Esbjerg Municipality > Esbjerg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Esbjerg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Olympic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, seven-story hotel located in the town center, within view of the harbor; 1 km to railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Olympic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Olympic Hotel Esbjerg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Olympic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.