We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean, friendly & perfect for Legoland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Propellen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Propellen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Propellen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nordmarksvej 3, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Billund
Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean, friendly & perfect for Legoland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

A flying visit to Denmark and Legoland and Hotel Propellen was perfect base for the day and evening. Although the price was the usual for the country (i.e., expensive) the hotel is nice, rooms were clean and open up onto a central courtyard. We'd forgotten swimming gear which they rent out for very cheap Wifi is free and there are PCs which customers can use. The fact that the hotel is used by cabin crew means they've a full stock of toiletries which is helpful in the era of over zealous airport security staff and the 100ml rule. Pool is a little small, and slightly odd that drinkers in the bar are looking in while you have a swim but other than that excellent!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    78
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
71
7
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hoover, AL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Good hotel for European standards, at least better than Legoland Hotel. It is a little on the pricey side. Try to stay on the first floor, since the second floor has cathedral ceilings that take half of the room. The restaurant is very nice and the customer service is great.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Having looked at the available accommodation for a Legoland trip I decided to take this hotel over hotel Legoland. Luckily I found Hotel Propellen a great place to stay, and would happily do it again.

The staff were excellent, professional and completely non-pretentious. On both nights of our stay they were accommodating with preparing specialty vegetarian meals in the large and well appointed restaurant.

The Internet services were fantastic with high speed wireless broadband in the room for free which was both reliable and quicker than the average wireless I have used in Europe.

The rooms were clean, comfortable with both water pressure and hot water in the shower (a combo which seems hard to find!).

I think this hotel is the perfect launchpad to Legoland, with a quick walk up the road to the front gates. There is also a large family aqua complex across the road which houses restaurants and many kids amusements that is open til late, the perfect stop if the kids aren't tired from a day (or 2) at Legoland.

The only (minor) issue was the close proximity to the airport which lead to an early wake up in the morning as the planes seem to start at about 6:30-7:00. This wasn't a big problem as the hotel is well insulated from noise, but thought I should mention it!

Thanks to everyone at Hotel Propellen!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Geogia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Great location across the st from a HUGE mall with Lalandia and 1/4 mile from legoland. Easy walk.

Great service, large rooms. A little on the pricey side but in a tourist town nothing to do.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

This is really an excellent base for Legoland which is a 5-7 minute walk away. The hotel has a bright and clean air to it. The rooms are perhaps a little small but spotless and have good facilities. There is free WiFi, also a PC in reception and a little office with another PC and printer. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.
Good breakfasts, didn't eat in the evening there but passing the wine cabinets on the way to breakfast I would agree with a previous reviewer regarding the choice available.
Pool was perfectly adequate for a little swim / play with children. There is also a bar downstairs.
Across the road in Lalandia which has a selection of restaurants, some of which are buffet style.
Overall a great place to stay if you are there for Legoland

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vorbasse
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

I liked this hotel. Near by the Airport and Legoland. Very frindly staff. They were so helpfully. The brekfast was big and great. In the restaurant in the evening we had a nice big steak, very good. The winelist was big, i'd never seen so large a list. The waitres was nice and smiling. Pool is a littel bit small but ok.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. The family room we stayed in was bright and clean, although a little smaller than we are used to with Australian hotels. (All the hotels we stayed at in Denmark were quite small). We had a door from our room to outside, so the kids could run out to the playground and let off steam.

Breakfast was good, and offered a good selection. We also had dinner one night at the hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Our main purpose for going was to visit Legoland, and it's just a short stroll down the road from the hotel. (There was another water-based theme park even closer to the hotel.) The bus stop (for those using public transport to get to Billund) was just a couple of hundred metres down the road. It's also close to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Propellen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Propellen

Address: Nordmarksvej 3, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund Municipality > Billund
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Propellen 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Propellen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Propellen Hotel Billund
Hotel Propellen Denmark/Billund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Propellen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.