We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for legoland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Propellen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Propellen to your Saves list
Hotel Propellen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nordmarksvej 3, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Billund
sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ok for legoland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

If we had car i would not have chosen this place , not value for money. However without car i think its best option. Having said that lalandia looks cool for kids if you have extra days.
Service good, especially Nik at reception who was very friendly. Food buffee very average, not 4 star -although breakfast was good.. Play room and pingpong good addition , did not try pool.
We were lucky and gave us suite which was very spacious and clean.
Because of food dinner buffe and general feel cant give 4, but 3.5 ok

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    81
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
89
8
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Average is definitely the right rating for this hotel. As has been said by others, it desparately needs air conditioning. The restaurant was pretty mediocre...nothing fundamentally wrong but no surprises. As with everything else in Denmark, prices are high...this sort of standard can be obtained for much less in most other countries. It is perfectly located for Legoland though and I wouldn't imagine that any other the other local hotels are any better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Nice hotel close to the airport so those eye watering danish taxi prices are not too painful! My room was of a decent size and the restaurant was not bad but quite expensive, but then denmark is generaly expensive in my experience. The bathroom was also OK. Breakfast was perfectly adequate.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed here for two nights for a conference. The facilities were very good, close to airport, food very good and plentiful. The rooms were a decent size, clean and beds comfortable. But no air conditioning so the rooms were stiflingly hot. Ground floor windows either opened by a centimetre or wide enough to let in any passerby which is not great if you are a lone female traveller. Air only circulated as far as the windowsill so will be v hot in height of summer.Pity as really close to Legoland and ideal base for a family.

Room Tip: If you like a coool room and want to sleep with open window dont sleep on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I've stayed in worst Hotels in Denmark I guess
Stayed here for a 2 day business conference, it's proximity to the airport being behind the choice.
Rooms were comfortable enough but restaurant food very average and staff generally miserable and abrupt in manner.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Propellen was satisfactory.
The plus points: bedroom was quiet, it was close (5 mins by taxi) to Billund airport, wifi was free and good.
Negative points: some reception staff were off-hand and indifferent. The place was not user friendly to people who were not 100% mobile. Exterior to the entrance, there was no ramp so suitcases had to be lugged up/down too many steps. Restaurant food was mediocre and pricey. We stayed two nights. On the second day, the bed was not made except that the duvet was just folder back. No effort was made to "make" the bed in the conventional sense. Only one clothes hanger was provided. For the price, it was poor value.

Room Tip: Many rooms are very small. If you stay for more than 3 or 4 days look for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

In short, I'm really glad I'm not paying. Single beds!?! Does anyone over 13 actually sleep in one these days?
The room is freezing. The restaurant expensive and really not worth it. Just over an hour and a half to get the main.
Will I stay again, only if I can't find something better locally to the airport.
Let's not forget that I lived in a mud hut in Iraq for 6 months, so my standards are pretty low! Is this really what Denmark have to offer?

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Propellen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Propellen

Address: Nordmarksvej 3, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund Municipality > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Propellen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Propellen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Propellen Hotel Billund
Hotel Propellen Denmark/Billund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Propellen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.