We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legoland Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Propellen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Propellen to your Saves list
Hotel Propellen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nordmarksvej 3, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Billund
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Legoland Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Everything worked well, the room was pleasant and the breakfast was ok. The staff working at the breakfast restaurant were helpful and very friendly. The location is great for Legoland visits.
The only downside was the woman working in reception. She seemed to be somehow in charge because she was instructing also another woman working there. She was very cold and arrogant. There was no smile, no welcome neither goodbye-welcome again coming from her mouth. This felt very strange, on a holiday you are used to being warmly welcomed to your hotel.
So, to sum up - a decent hotel with at least one person with an attitude problem.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    81
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
89
8
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I sometimes travel for work and in July of 2012 I attended a supervisor's meeting in Billund. We stayed at the Hotel Propellen and held our meetings in the onsite conference room.

The Sunday before our meetings started I was able to visit a Viking festival in Jelling. I used public transportation and the people at the Propellen were very helpful in getting me on my way. In addition to my visit to Jelling, I was able to visit a manufacturing facility in Give and our company group spent an afternoon in Legoland. From what little bit I was able to see of Denmark, it seems like a very beautiful place.

Across the street from the hotel is Lalandia, a large entertainment / shopping venue. That was convenient because it's about a 30 minute walk to Billund proper so it was nice to walk across the street for snacks and beverages.

I really enjoyed my visit to Billund and many thanks to the people at the Hotel Propellen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were in hotel Propellen at last summer. Hotel was clean, staff was kind and helpfull. Short walk to Legoland and Aquadome. Very peaceful place. We stayed there 5 nights. . Everything worked fine. Cant say negative...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A few minutes drive from the airport, a short walk to Legoland, you would be forgiven to think this hotel noisy and bustling. Far from it. Comfortable, clean rooms with free WiFi are are perfect for the businessman or couple wanting a little peace at the end of a hard day when a good shower followed by feet up with a drink from the minibar calls. However, you're more likely to try the rather good restaurant that concentrates on quality over an extensive menu - although that can be a minus point if you're only after a cheap snack. While the bar serves up mini pizzas it is a long wait for it does not open until 20.30. A range of essentials, sweets and drinks are available from reception but hat's off to the friendly staff who arranged a takeaway to be sent in from town for me to eat while working late at my bedroom desk. There is a lovely, professional and friendly atmosphere to this place that keeps it a step ahead of most business hotels in Denmark and I really do like the intimate nature of the bar once I eventually managed to find time to use it. Still got to try the pool and sauna... The riverside walk through the extensive 'wild' parkland into Billund provides a welcome diversion to work, with sculptures en route. Good size car park, too. Just a quick memo - the large reception is tiled and these can be very slippery when you walk in from the rain.

Room Tip: My last room overlooked the car park at the front of the hotel and it was as quiet as the previous r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed again at Hotel Propellen, and can only say it's well worth it! Nice rooms, easy parking, a pool, free table tennis, fast (and free) internet, and best of all offering a package to Legoland for the whole family. Food too was very good, with generous danish size portions. Only small quibble was that in pre-ordering dinner for the family, on one of the nights we stayed, the food took a little long to arrive, and the children's main courses were served long before adults. I thought the whole point of pre-ordering meals and time of seating before 12 o´clock would guarantee a swift service? Nevertheless, the stay was stress-free, staff are friendly, and the whole place caters very well for families. If you get a Legoland package here, it works out better value than at Hotel Legoland, since dinners are included. And since it takes about 3 minutes to walk to the main entrance at Legoland, you're in for a treat - especially if you need to have some quiet time, away from Legoland, but know you can come and go there as you please. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Billund town centre, where you can also stock up on cheap snacks and drinks (instead of mini bar prices!). Well worth the stay, and will gladly return!

Room Tip: If you want access to your car, parked round the back - get a ground floor room. Most rooms on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here twice for business and enjoyed both visits greatly !!

Very clean and efficient and the staff on reception were only too happy to help when I had no phone charger !!

Friendly and clean !!!

Very close to legoland so would definitely be tempted to take the family !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This qualifies as a motel at best in terms of the old furniture, unsmiling service, mediocre restaurant and beow that for the bar. The worst part is the prevalent stench of Chlorine in the rooms which appears to have been overly liberally used to clean everything. The price was WAY too high for a very poor overall experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Propellen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Propellen

Address: Nordmarksvej 3, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund Municipality > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Propellen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Propellen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Propellen Hotel Billund
Hotel Propellen Denmark/Billund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Propellen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.