We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for Legoland but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Propellen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Propellen to your Saves list
Hotel Propellen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nordmarksvej 3, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Billund
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Handy for Legoland but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a 2 day legoland deal (we were actually there for the best part of three days because of how we'd worked the flights). We used the luggage room to store bags before we could check in and after we'd checked-out as well as a small safe/deposit box for passports, etc.

Reception staff initially appeared friendly and welcoming, but ask them for something non-standard or query their policies/procedurers and you'll see them change a little. I made the mistake of pre-authorising my credit card in GBP (Great British Pounds) rather than the local Kroner, but as it was just a pre-auth I wasn't too bothered. When it came to check-out they quoted me a room-charge total in Kroner but then charged me in GBP. When I asked them to change it, they said they couldn't so I'd effectively lost £150!

We'd booked a family room and ended up in a twin-bed room with a sofa bed, but I'm sure that when I'd reserved it the description was a double bed and 2 x single beds. I therefore challenged them on this and was told that the double bed described in the booking was the sofa bed! When factoring in the Danish way of having single duvets for each occupant of a double bed, I can assure you that I wasn't well rested!

Just as well then that the breakfast is very good, particularly the pastries obviously. The cooked selection (bacon - oddly very dry and crisp, sausages, scrambled eggs and potatoes) was good and the selection of breads along with the pate simply excellent.

On the first night we ate at the restaurant and were not particularly happy with the service, choice of food or the price. The service was good right up to the point when we asked for a jug of water for the kids - they obviously wanted to sell us a bottle. Call me a cheapskate if you like, but they were happy to provide jugs to the table once the meal arrived, so why not initially?! I've come across this a few times recently. The food itself was good but cold. And be careful if you like your steaks well-done, the default setting I'd say is medium-rare!

After the meal we had a few drinks at the bar, expensive, but great service and a nice atmosphere. So good, that on the second night we thought we'd eat there rather than the restaurant, but for no obvious reason, and without any warning, the bar was closed - the receptionist wouldn't provide any reason other than to say that it wasn't open every night. Their literature says it is open every night other than Sunday - it wasn't Sunday! Given the hotel's location the choice of alternative evening meal arrangements were limited, so we reluctantly used the restaurant again, and felt we were just getting in the way of staff trying to serve the businessmen who were staying there.

We used the swimming pool and sauna - both were good with nice spacious changing rooms.

Having walked the 1KM footpath into Billund (which runs next to the hotel), we enjoyed our time in the very clean, relaxed town and visited a few shops a beautiful bakery/coffe shop. Everyone was very friendly there.

In summary, I'd say that it's location, being so close to the airport, legoland, the industrial areas and the footpath to Billund's centre along with it's cleanliness and professional ambience make this hotel a good choice for families and business travellers alike. That said, it's slightly pretentious restaurant and staff are a bit off-putting for families.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    100
    56
    9
    9
See reviews for
108
9
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

The people in the reception is nice! the hotel in general is good, i stayed here on a business trip, good enough i think, just didn't like the fact that restaurant don't have a lot of dishes to choose from for dinner and well what they call well done on meat is not well done but i guess that is a difference in Denmark not a problem of the Hotel restaurant.
It is very near LEGOland so it is convenient for a visit to the park, besides there is a park just a few steps away so you can use it for running. Oh and the hotel has a little gym and a ping pong table.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed 1 night as part of a Legoland 2 day package booked on Legoland holidays website. We are 5 and the room had 2 twin beds, a double sofa bed and a pullout extra bed, and it was a big room so plenty of space for us all. Most rooms seem to open out on a little courtyard with patio tables and chairs. Good for families - hotel has a playroom, games room, small indoor swimming pool and snacks/drinks for sale at reception. With the package there is the offer of a Legoland menu deal at the hotel restaurant - worth taking as, though the choice was limited, you get 2 courses off the menu for 190DKK which is about the same as one main dish from the normal a la carte. Quality of food both at dinner and breakfast was good - not Michelin standard obviously, but perfectly fine for a family hotel. It is about 5 mins walk to the main entrances to both Legoland and Lalandia, so pretty well located. All in all it was a good choice for us. We stayed last year at the main Legoland hotel - Propellen is considerably cheaper, but the rooms and food were pretty similar.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Comfy beds. Quiet rooms - couldn't hear the planes at all.
Food was a real surprise! Really tasty, stylish and huge portions. Great wine too. The only problem was flies. Midges and big black flies. There were loads in our room, and in the restaurant: landing on the food. Its a shame, because the place is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were two mothers with 3 children who spent one night at hotel Propellen early June. There was some error with reservation so instead of two rooms we offered a one one bedroom mini suite with sofa bed which we gladly accepted. After exhausting day in Legoland we waited to get nice sleep but the sofabed was unmade. When I called the front desk told that guests needed to make their own beds. The room cost nearly 450 euros!! I tried to make the sofabed but because of the 3 tables in the room it could not be opened! Nice young lady from reception came and moved away one table. Whe the bed finally was ready we started to sleep but after 5 minuts the sofa broke down and we had to sleep on
the floor. It was a total rip off!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I have no idea what sort of hotel rating system they use in Denmark fact is, this is NOT a four star by a long shot. Most probably a two and a half star at a push.

The pillows on the beds were an absolute joke. Must be the cheapest they could find! In fact throughout it seemed to be a case of employing "cheap and nasty". There was no bath in our room (always nice for the kids/wife). The water pressure in the shower was poor. Also, much to my surprise there was NO proper soap or shampoo in the bathroom (a first for me!) - just some disgusting "stuff" from a dispenser! We had to buy our own from reception!

The food was ok but boring - the same stuff was dished up every morning and night - the chef (if one could call him that) obviously, lacks complete inspiration.

The staff was not particularly friendly either and I would go as far to say, fairly arrogant at the best of times.

On a positive note at least the kids enjoyed the pool. There was also a jacuzzi area but was out of service.

Needless to say, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed for three nights with two small children. Very close to Legoland and nice pool! For some reason they tried to charge my norwegian credit card with US$ and I got a bad exchange rate, but the difference was later refunded when I called and complained.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billund hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Legoland
Hotel Legoland
#6 of 14 in Billund
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sdr. Omme Kro
Sdr. Omme Kro
#9 of 14 in Billund
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zleep Hotel Billund
Zleep Hotel Billund
#10 of 14 in Billund
3.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Svanen
Hotel Svanen
#11 of 14 in Billund
3.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
6.7 mi away
Filskov Kro
Filskov Kro
#1 of 3 in Grindsted
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Svanen
Hotel Svanen
#3 of 3 in Grindsted
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Propellen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Propellen

Address: Nordmarksvej 3, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Propellen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Propellen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Propellen Hotel Billund
Hotel Propellen Denmark/Billund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Propellen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.