We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, clean, quiet hotel with superb food. Slightly spoilt by flies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Propellen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Propellen to your Saves list
Hotel Propellen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nordmarksvej 3, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Billund
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean, quiet hotel with superb food. Slightly spoilt by flies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

Comfy beds. Quiet rooms - couldn't hear the planes at all.
Food was a real surprise! Really tasty, stylish and huge portions. Great wine too. The only problem was flies. Midges and big black flies. There were loads in our room, and in the restaurant: landing on the food. Its a shame, because the place is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    81
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
89
8
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were two mothers with 3 children who spent one night at hotel Propellen early June. There was some error with reservation so instead of two rooms we offered a one one bedroom mini suite with sofa bed which we gladly accepted. After exhausting day in Legoland we waited to get nice sleep but the sofabed was unmade. When I called the front desk told that guests needed to make their own beds. The room cost nearly 450 euros!! I tried to make the sofabed but because of the 3 tables in the room it could not be opened! Nice young lady from reception came and moved away one table. Whe the bed finally was ready we started to sleep but after 5 minuts the sofa broke down and we had to sleep on
the floor. It was a total rip off!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I have no idea what sort of hotel rating system they use in Denmark fact is, this is NOT a four star by a long shot. Most probably a two and a half star at a push.

The pillows on the beds were an absolute joke. Must be the cheapest they could find! In fact throughout it seemed to be a case of employing "cheap and nasty". There was no bath in our room (always nice for the kids/wife). The water pressure in the shower was poor. Also, much to my surprise there was NO proper soap or shampoo in the bathroom (a first for me!) - just some disgusting "stuff" from a dispenser! We had to buy our own from reception!

The food was ok but boring - the same stuff was dished up every morning and night - the chef (if one could call him that) obviously, lacks complete inspiration.

The staff was not particularly friendly either and I would go as far to say, fairly arrogant at the best of times.

On a positive note at least the kids enjoyed the pool. There was also a jacuzzi area but was out of service.

Needless to say, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed for three nights with two small children. Very close to Legoland and nice pool! For some reason they tried to charge my norwegian credit card with US$ and I got a bad exchange rate, but the difference was later refunded when I called and complained.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our family stayed at Propellen for 3 nights. The location was excellent.
The only thing that was not at all good was that there was a wedding at the hotel the last night we stayed there. Our room was very close to the restaurant where the wedding took place and the noise was terrible. It did not help at all when we closed all doors and windows. We did not sleep a wink until the wedding festivities were over after 2 a.m. and we had to wake up at 6 a.m. again for our flight back home. We will not come back to this hotell again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We opted to stay at Propellen instead of Hotel Legoland. Propellen is just a 5 min walk from Legoland itself and parking is free for guests. We found a package that included accomodation, dinner, breakfast and one day tickets to Legoland - and it was still cheaper than a stay at hotel Legoland.
The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was nothing special, a double bed and a sofa bed for the kids but it had a small terrace just outside the room which was nice in the evening.
The dinner buffet was a bit disappointing (not that many vegetarian options) but the breakfast was really good! There is an playroom close to the restaurants so that the kids can go off and play when they've finished their food,
Another good thing is that you can buy small bottles of wine at the front desk to enjoy in you room when the kids have gone to sleep.
There is a also small pool and free wifi.
All in all I would say it's good value for money, clean and quiet. I was suprised to see all the families with kids in the morning becauses I hadn't heard them earlier.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with access to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My wife,5 yr old son and myself have just spent a week here and left feeling lucky to have stayed here.With Lalandia across one road and Legoland across another it has the ideal situation,as well as the airport being 5 minutes away by taxi or bus.The hotel itself is very modern and easy on the eye.The swimming pool downstairs was a great way to relax in the evening.The staff were all friendly and extremely helpful.Breakfast was a delight as the choices were plentiful with something for everyone.The rooms were well furnished though I would have liked some drawers instead of cupboard space.Rooms were spotlessly clean although they did miss one day and didn't always leave coffee.Overall I would highly recommend the Propellen to anyone considering going to Billund.

Room Tip: Be aware you can hear air traffic on a regular basis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Propellen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Propellen

Address: Nordmarksvej 3, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund Municipality > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Propellen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Propellen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Propellen Hotel Billund
Hotel Propellen Denmark/Billund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Propellen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.