We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's one of the best choices in town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Propellen Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hotel Propellen Restaurant
Nordmarksvej 3, Billund 7190, Denmark
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Billund
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It's one of the best choices in town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We went with a large party, and all had the buffet. All six adults and four children were satisfied with their choices. The menu also had a lot of good choices. The menu items that were served nearby all looked delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strangnas, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Surprisingly good in a nice environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

When I go to a hotel close to LEGO-land, I do not expect high-end gastronomy. This is what you can get at Propellen restaurant. Very nice atmosphere and excellent service together with an impressive wine list and, of course, well composed dishes - what else do you need?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord-Scharwoude, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“tasty and big variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

it's a good restaurant with plenty of choice.The dishes are well prepared and they taste good.Theyhave a big variety of cheese and also meat and fish which they were tasty.Service was ok,but could be better.The restaurant is pretty big and they also have ala carte menu,not only the buffet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A cut above some hotel restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were staying at the Hotel Legoland but the restaurant's emphasis on a buffet and a very limited selection of mains put us off. We took a chance on Propellen having read the reviews on here and ended up going back the second night. There was a good selection of mains and a cheaper buffet option. The wine list was also pretty good and I think that they must cater for more business travellers outside of the holiday season. We tried a variety of mains including fish and meat. Each course was accompanied by an interesting range of vegetables and some sort of sauce. Portion sizes were quite big which seemed to be a feature of our stay in Denmark.

There were three separate rooms with tables usually spaced out or broken up by alcoves. This meant that it felt quieter and more relaxed than you might have expected given the number of people with children. The service was excellent and they always brought out the kids food a bit in advance. I wish all restaurants would do this as standard as it usually keeps the kids happy (and those around them). The children's menu was also pretty good and the ice cream was so impressive that we ended up sharing it.

The hotel itself is located a five minute walk from the back of Hotel Legoland. Walking through the sculpture park is quicker than going by road. It's also very close to Lalandia so if the room rates are reasonable then it could make a good base.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Awesome selection!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The restaurant has a wide selection to choose from. Something I noticed is that the Danish people seem to like their cheeses and cured meats or fishes.

Very yummy!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Propellen Restaurant also viewed

Billund, Billund Municipality
Billund, Billund Municipality
 
Billund, Billund Municipality
Billund, Billund Municipality
 

Been to Hotel Propellen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Propellen Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.