We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinky” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Svanen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Svanen to your Saves list
Hotel Svanen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nordmarksvej 8, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Billund
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Stinky”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I've been in room 51 (see pictures published here) where there is a very bad smell of dirty feet. Very uncomfortable tryjng to get to sleep with such a bad smell all around. The pillow is also smelling bad.

The quality is below the minimum expected standard.

Never again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    59
    66
    32
    24
See reviews for
88
28
6
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granville, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was in Billund for a week on business and had to move to this hotel the last two nights of my visit. I had heard from some colleagues but the hotel was very nice, so I was expecting a nice stay. I was quite surprised when I found my room dirty and spiders all over the ceiling. Because of conferences in town I have no other option but to stay here, but I'll do my best to never stay here again, although the breakfast buffet is very nice.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here as I had to catch a flight next morning. Close to the airport. Good size room with excellent wifi connectivity. Underfloor heating in bathroom! However room charge seemed very high, especially considering the fact that Legoland was closed, so it effectively was off-season. Also note that the hotel has surcharge for use of credit card. Very good breakfast spread. Lounge area seems to have lot of items, though did not have opportunity to sample them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in October, and the welcome was not the warmest, but we are in Dk, and even though I m not expecting too much, I do still expect, to receive a warm welcome and smile at the reception. I thought, he definitely woke up on the wrong side of the bed, but the next day, he was in the same mood.. The I guess, he really have a wrong attitude, and he shouldn't be at the reception.
So I guess my evaluation it's quite split about the service and that's why I gave only 3 stars. Anyways..
the room was fine, and clean and I really like that the good parking facilities, close to your own room. Great walking distance to Legoland.
The breakfast was good and with a lot of choice, with a kind service. And that's very important to mention. How is it that the waiter are actually, more service mind then a receptionist?
Th room was perfect size, we were 2 ad and 2 chldren.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

It's a solid choice if you want to stay near the airport.

The room was quite large and they had a nice selection of shower accessories, Breakfast had a wide variety of choices and the WIFI was good with no connection problem and a high bandwith.

But the hotel is in my opinion a little to expensive for the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapur
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here as a family of four (kids at 1 and 3 years old) for one night during a 2-day Legoland visit. Room in one of the single-storey "barracks" was spacious enough, although nothing fancy. The (small) lobby has been nicely done.

Breakfast buffet was appropriate and caters well to kids.

At 230€ incl. 2-day passes to Legoland for 2 adults and 1 child I'd consider this a decent deal.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Fitting to both Legoland and Lalandia visitors as well to overnighters of Billund Airport, it is a very new and modern building with excellent facilities.Rooms are spacious and bathroom much larger than what you find in European hotels. A nice buffet restaurant provides good food and a good wine list. Breakfast is a must. A nice surprise.

Room Tip: You can park your car right outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Svanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Svanen

Address: Nordmarksvej 8, Billund 7190, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund Municipality > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Svanen 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Svanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svanen Hotel Billund
Hotel Svanen Denmark/Billund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Svanen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.