We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Svanen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Svanen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Svanen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nordmarksvej 8, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Billund
Kopavogur, Iceland
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed over night with my 2 sons and we got upgrated room for some reason and great service over all. Food was also very good and the outdoor sitting area just super.
The playground for the kids was excellent and we were very happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    46
    51
    29
    20
See reviews for
65
18
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Room very clean. Not enviromentally friendly hotel, they changed towel even when I hanged it up (wanted to use the same again), and no recycling. Party noises. Restaurant experience not good, breakfast ok.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I am an Englishman from London and my wife, son and I stayed at Hotel Savnen for two nights last weekend during our stay at Legoland. We stayed in room 411. - I have to confess that I was a little nervous about staying in this hotel as I had read closely all the reviews on Trip Advisor. Having now stayed at the hotel, it makes me really quite angry that there are some people in life who for whatever reason, have nothing better to do than be negative and criticial when it is totally unjustified and undeserved. - You can always find something wrong (however small) but that doesn't mean that you have to be plainly rude which i feel is the case here.

I have stayed in many hotels around the world including some of the very best and have good experience of Boutique hotels, Business hotels, Tourist hotels etc etc. Obviously the Hotel Svanen is catering for the Legoland tourist. That means lots of families with young children, which of course makes it difficult to keep all mothers and children happy! The hotel is certainly not marketing itself as a luxury option. However we thought the Hotel was absolutely excellent from our newly decorated room (411) which was perfect for three people and extremely comfortable, to a wonderful breakfast (honestly thought the breakfast was as good as any 5* hotel that i have stayed in including the Four Seasons), from really helpful waiters with a smile on their face to a comfortable and relaxed reception area where you could play different board games. It was also especially convenient to be able to park right by our bedroom.

I would recommend this Hotel as i think it is a good, economical option, opposite the safari park and a close walk to Legoland.

Well done Hotel Svanen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located walking ditance from both Lalandia and Legoland. The rooms are clean and decent but overpriced of what they provide. But the hotel does offer addiitonal cots, even in the smaller rooms - so can cram a lot of people in. Dinner buffet was very average for the cost (and they did charge for tap water!). Breakfast buffet was nicer with lot of hot and cold options. Overall, a very touristy hotel, overpriced but conveniently located for a family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a conveniently located but expensive motel next to legoland. Breakfast ok. Dinner was expensive and not that good. The cold dishes were warm and warm dishes were cold in the buffe.

Rooms. Would need some refurbishment if they want to call this a hotel. No airconditioning and no fan. You can hear everything from neighbouring rooms and hallway. Earplugs needed to get some sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljunghusen
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The breakfast is not very impressive compared to normal Scandinavian standard. Nice dark bread though. If you can get a good price and stay in the tower rooms it's ok, otherwise I probably would try another hotel next time in Billund. Location is good for Legoland/Lalandia. The restaurant is very expensive, but the food is now not even close to the standard when I was here the last time 2 years ago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Firstly, if it wasn't for Legoland this hotel would not exist. Because there is a demand for capacity, people will end up staying here and so the place will make money whatever they do - and they don't do much!

On arrival, the reception staff will make a point of continuing their personal conversations before bothering to serve you - it is clearly a policy as this happened every time we approached them. If you have the mis-fortune to end up in a room facing the bar/garden, then be prepared !!! The basic problem is that there is no seregation between rooms, recreation, restaurants, staff areas etc., so you will get no peace during the stay - not helped by the wafer-thin pre-fab construction and lack of any consideration for guests' comfort. Don't bother asking for help after midnight as no-one bothers to pick up the phone anyway.

For a 4 star hotel, I do not expect cheap plastic coffee and water cups, no storage space or secure locker, no storage or shelf area in the bathroom, no air con or fan. Other reviewers have commented on the other short-comings, and they are telling the truth.

We experienced the breakfast and evening buffets. Again, this is nowhere near 4 star quality and we noticed the breakfast spread is significantly reduced at the weekend (just one heated offering - boiled eggs) - so you will get ripped off even more of you stay on a Friday or Saturday night. There is a kids' play area by the restaurant - complete with broken tv and vidoe games and mostly filled with machines to extract more money out of you. Apart from this there is a trampoline outside and so rather dirty looking water areas, but at busy times your children better be prepared to fight for their space.

A final piece of advice - check your bill carefully on checkout as you will find some interesting items (all in codes so you won't know what your being charged for) so I strongly recommend you keep a record of what you spend and what charges you have agreed beforehand. Overall, if there is no other hotel available then change the dates of your visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Svanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Svanen

Address: Nordmarksvej 8, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund Municipality > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Svanen 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Svanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svanen Hotel Billund
Hotel Svanen Denmark/Billund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Svanen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.