We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable choice for visiting Legoland and Givskud Zoo but with a car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Svanen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Svanen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Svanen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nordmarksvej 8, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Billund
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Reasonable choice for visiting Legoland and Givskud Zoo but with a car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Nice modern hotel near (500 m) from Legoland. Some 1-2 flour housed around the center place (reception and restaurant). Nice breakfast. Evening dinner traditionally high-cost for 4* hotel.
The only inconvenience - parking just upon the window of 1-flow apartment.
Child zone in center house (you may leave your child for 1 hour without any troubles).

Room Tip: Ask for a room outside the parking (but parkinf is practically all over the hotel!) or at least at 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    46
    53
    25
    21
See reviews for
76
19
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE! This hotel is a disgrace. We arrived at 2330 with our booking in our hand and no-one was able to confirm it. After three phone calls and some completely incompetent staff, we are still arguing with then with 30 minutes later. Just horrendous

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed one night for business. It was a last minute booking. For some reason I got the Junior Suite although I am not sure if the whole hotel was fully booked. I think they just sold the expensive rooms first...For a junior suite the carpet could have at least less spots and if you have two separate beds...why not also one cover available in the closet. There is nothing more annoying then when you are used to a king size bed to have the space but not one bed cover but two separate ones. The bathroom was nice, heated floor. Breakfast was ok, although little glasses and "powder" orange juice and "powder" scrambled eggs is not something that helps. Does it really safe you that much money? There is no airport shuttle so expect an extra cost of DKK130 (in the evening) and DKK 90 for the taxi to the airport (for a 4 km drive...).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Far Away
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night on business, it would appear I was lucky as my room was enough for someone who wanted a bed, a shower and desk. Going by the photos on here, I had a new room (37) and it was fine. Remember to lock your room when you leave. The restaurant was a bit too 'exclusive' for me, but the bar staff were quick to offer a baguette and chips which suited me. Would have no problem staying here again, as long as I had a new room. Check in/out was not a problem, straightforward and a good explanation of where my room was. I checked out at 545 and I was offered breakfast (available from 5am) as I hadn't taken it but no pressure.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Location is nice...especially if you have the chance/opportunity to enjoy the brand new buildings/rooms....I had the chance to have a room in complex E (room 30x on) and they are all brand new. The old rooms are quite sad...and really old fashioned.
The reception and the restaurant / bar are very fancy, warm....but with the only problem that you have to walk outside especially if you are in one of the new buildings...and during wintertime isn't the best option.
Rooms are quite roomy and everything is pretty comfortable....even the iron in the room.
Bathroom is precious, with a huge Jacuzzi shower!
All the areas have free wifi....and parking available with enough space for all the cars.
Restaurant is really delicious...various type of menu to enjoy...but everything pretty delicious.
Wine selection also is good enough but prices are very expensive....(I was told it is the average of the area...but I spent 60€ for a schnitzel, a beer and a dessert...)
I will anyway recommend this place especially if you have to go to Lego or need to be close to the airport....just 10 minutes driving.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronde, Denmark
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My room was very spacious, and at 795 drk it was very good value by Danish standards. And the location is good, no matter what you want to do in Billund. That's about it - there is no charme whatsoever, it breathes efficiency and hygiene, the bathroom could be from a hospital, the beds are Danish conference hotel standard...it's fine if you just want to have a night's sleep. That the hotel calls itself af 'design hotel' in its brochure is really perplexing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's not a hotel, it's a motel - and not a very good one. There was no air conditioning in our room, so the room was so humid that the wall-to-wall-carpet was wet all the time. And the staff in the restaurant wasn't very efficient, to say the least. Bar was good, as well as the winelist in the restaurant, but for a hotel that markets itself to families, it is quite bizarre...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Svanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Svanen

Address: Nordmarksvej 8, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund Municipality > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Svanen 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Svanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svanen Hotel Billund
Hotel Svanen Denmark/Billund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Svanen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.