We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to the airport. Average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Svanen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Svanen to your Saves list
Hotel Svanen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nordmarksvej 8, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Billund
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Near to the airport. Average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed one night for business. It was a last minute booking. For some reason I got the Junior Suite although I am not sure if the whole hotel was fully booked. I think they just sold the expensive rooms first...For a junior suite the carpet could have at least less spots and if you have two separate beds...why not also one cover available in the closet. There is nothing more annoying then when you are used to a king size bed to have the space but not one bed cover but two separate ones. The bathroom was nice, heated floor. Breakfast was ok, although little glasses and "powder" orange juice and "powder" scrambled eggs is not something that helps. Does it really safe you that much money? There is no airport shuttle so expect an extra cost of DKK130 (in the evening) and DKK 90 for the taxi to the airport (for a 4 km drive...).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    53
    55
    28
    22
See reviews for
80
22
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Far Far Away
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night on business, it would appear I was lucky as my room was enough for someone who wanted a bed, a shower and desk. Going by the photos on here, I had a new room (37) and it was fine. Remember to lock your room when you leave. The restaurant was a bit too 'exclusive' for me, but the bar staff were quick to offer a baguette and chips which suited me. Would have no problem staying here again, as long as I had a new room. Check in/out was not a problem, straightforward and a good explanation of where my room was. I checked out at 545 and I was offered breakfast (available from 5am) as I hadn't taken it but no pressure.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Location is nice...especially if you have the chance/opportunity to enjoy the brand new buildings/rooms....I had the chance to have a room in complex E (room 30x on) and they are all brand new. The old rooms are quite sad...and really old fashioned.
The reception and the restaurant / bar are very fancy, warm....but with the only problem that you have to walk outside especially if you are in one of the new buildings...and during wintertime isn't the best option.
Rooms are quite roomy and everything is pretty comfortable....even the iron in the room.
Bathroom is precious, with a huge Jacuzzi shower!
All the areas have free wifi....and parking available with enough space for all the cars.
Restaurant is really delicious...various type of menu to enjoy...but everything pretty delicious.
Wine selection also is good enough but prices are very expensive....(I was told it is the average of the area...but I spent 60€ for a schnitzel, a beer and a dessert...)
I will anyway recommend this place especially if you have to go to Lego or need to be close to the airport....just 10 minutes driving.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronde, Denmark
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My room was very spacious, and at 795 drk it was very good value by Danish standards. And the location is good, no matter what you want to do in Billund. That's about it - there is no charme whatsoever, it breathes efficiency and hygiene, the bathroom could be from a hospital, the beds are Danish conference hotel standard...it's fine if you just want to have a night's sleep. That the hotel calls itself af 'design hotel' in its brochure is really perplexing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's not a hotel, it's a motel - and not a very good one. There was no air conditioning in our room, so the room was so humid that the wall-to-wall-carpet was wet all the time. And the staff in the restaurant wasn't very efficient, to say the least. Bar was good, as well as the winelist in the restaurant, but for a hotel that markets itself to families, it is quite bizarre...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Close to the airport (5 minute drive). More of a motel style than a normal hotel. Staff are Ok but when I arrived two members of staff on reception decided that it was more important to finish their concurrent mobile phone calls before attending to me.

Room was comfortable and large with all the facilties one would expect, I didn't eat there so cannot comment on the food. When I was there the weather was terrible and it was a 3 minute walk to the main hotel building so take an umbrella!!

It is also quite close to LegoLand (about 3 minutes drive)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night on busininess ( made a fatal mistake of not checking trip advisor first) never more than a 1 star hotel at best. Room very shabby and plainer than a garden shed, restaurant food 2 star at most, some motorway services sell far better food cheaper. Very depressing place, it's not even a hotel it is a motel

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Svanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Svanen

Address: Nordmarksvej 8, Billund 7190, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund Municipality > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Svanen 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Svanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svanen Hotel Billund
Hotel Svanen Denmark/Billund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Svanen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.