We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Awesome!" (Son aged 9)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Legoland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Legoland to your Saves list
Hotel Legoland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aastvej 10, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Billund
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“"Awesome!" (Son aged 9)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was a surprise trip for my kids (9 & 12) who thought the place was great. We stayed in a themed room, which was excellent, though the place is huge and it's quite a hike to get around it. Staying here does get you into the park first, so plenty of opportunity to go on the roller coasters without queuing:
"Awesome!"

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    112
    68
    37
    16
See reviews for
187
10
2
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We are a family with two boys aged 10 and 2. Arrived July 9 and departed July 11 (2 nights). We had a great time at the Legoland Park; however the hotel was poor in particular compared to the price of USD 606/ Euro 448 per night! Breakfast was OK and personel attitude good. Hotel seems worn out. Rooms are however extremely small. Very limited aeration and no ventilation or airconditioning. The combination of summer weather and the lack of ventilation or airconditioning made it impossible to get a nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Jeanett M, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Legoland, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi BKVBD

Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor

We are happy to hear that you had a great time at the LEGOLAND park though we are very sorry that the standard of Hotel LEGOLAND didn´t meet your expectations. We will of course take your comments into considerations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I truly would you not to stay or eat at this dredful hotel!

Hotel is completely worn out and would rate mostly two star hotel anywhere else than in Billund. We stayed at Pirate room which from the hotel pictures and descriptions looked promising. Reality was completely something else. Worn out interiors. Dirty. Shower water floods the floor due to misplaced sink. No aircon. And the list carryes on and on.

Buffet breakfast and lunch were not very appealing. Very messy setup and food is not cleaned up from the serving stations.

We were hoping for a better experience from the only ala carte restaurant at the hotel. We were the first family to arrive at the restaurant and ordered our food right away. It took one hour for my steak to arrive and to my (not any more that much) surprise it was cold. I sent the food to back to kitchen and waited for half an hour to get it back. Constantly I asked if it had been forgotten to which I got reply: "We are working on it". Eventually we had to leave the restaurant once my order never arrived.

Upon check out from the hotel we had a wait for a very long time due to staff being short at the check out counter.

So be warned! Do think thrice (not twice) if you are planning to stay at this hotel. Promises made in the brochures and web site are completely different from the reality.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Jeanett M, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Legoland, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi Trav_Blogger

Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor

We are really sorry to hear that your stay at Hotel LEGOLAND did not meet your expactations and the way you describe certain situations we can say that this way of servicing our guests does not at all meet our own expectations. Therefore we kindly ask you to send your story to info@legoland.dk as it gives us the opportunity to investigate the cases further and return to you with an answer directly from the Directors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Mans, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We spent 2 nights and 2 days at Legoland Hotel and Legoland.
We had a wonderful family time!
The hotel has a direct access to the park.
We chose a family room which was very spacious… The kids had small LEGO gifts on arrival and boxes of LEGO are available to play in the room.
The hotel is truly designed for children with Lego play areas all over…So that the parents can have a drink or dinner quietly.
The breakfast was great.
A wonderful stay for all the family!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Jeanett M, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Legoland, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi Marie-Cécile C

Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel LEGOLAND and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed one night at a Pirate-themed room. Check-in time is at 15.00, check-out at 11.00. Small room, decoration was fun, but couldn't hide the fact that the hotel is dated. We got one room key (an actual key, not a card). In high summer and the room had no AC, only a SMALL table fan. We saw several leaving their hotel room door open all night in order to get just a little air in there. We kept the window open, but with Billund Airport 500m away, the noise from the airplanes is loud and go on most of the night. After the first of us showered, the bathroom floor was flooded. Calling the front desk the staff came quickly to resolve it. They knew exactly what the problem was and the girl said it was the second time that day she had to unclog a bathroom drain. She solved it fast, and gave us extra towels to dry the floor. I do not consider a clogged drain a big problem, but when we all were tired and drained (no pun intended) from being in a very hot room, and when it seems to be a recurring problem, then it is not ok.

We were told at checking in that the hotel has free wifi, but couldn't get it to work. Upon asking at the reception again, they said there had been problems with internet the last days and at 08.00 in the morning they had noone who could assist in trying to solve it.

The breakfast buffet was good quality and with good choices. Having to make your own pancakes might be fun for the kids, but after a long night of not sleeping well (courtesy of the missing AC) i would have preferred if someone could have flipped those pancakes for me.

Overall it is a fun Lego-themed hotel with friendly staff, and very conveniently placed with own entrance to Legoland. Our son liked it, and if they could upgrade the hotel (most importantly by adding AC, and a better mattress would be good too) it would become quite ok, but they got some way to go before it becomes good value for the money we paid.

We would consider coming back another time, but definitely not during hot summer days, and we would check the other options in Billind and Vejle better before deciding.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Jeanett M, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Legoland, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi Just_be_true

Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor

We are sorry to hear that you were not quite satisfied with the standard of Hotel LEGOLAND and will of course take your comments into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Dear Legoland, please update this hotel! The location is perfect, and the hotel activities were great. I loved the large fitness center, and the free pool across the street. The Lego building stations were cool for my boys.

But for over $400 a night, you should update the rooms, and pretty much the whole hotel. Feels dark and dingy, and a time warp back to the 70s. Our room is tiny, and one of us slept on the floor each night. The sofa bed did not sleep my 2 boys...only the size for one of them.

There is no AC, so the rooms get stuffy and muggy very quickly. We had a tiny fan, which they provided, to move the air around. This is the first expensive hotel I have been at where they gave us one key, and not cards to use for our room. The only thing that is new in our room is the small flat-screen tv. The food is crazy expensive, so we didn't eat dinner at the hotel. I didn't see too many people in the "nice" sit down restaurant. It would have cost my family $200 for dinner.

I don't think there are too many hotel options out here in Billund, which is unfortunate.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Jeanett M, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Legoland, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hi Livelovelifenow

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor

We are sorry to hear that you were sleeping on the floor due to lack of space in the room and we wish you has contacted the reception desk in order to have the problem solved at the spot.

Hotel LEGOLAND was builded back in 1968 and has been expanded from 32 to 233 rooms since the LEGO family bought the hotel in 1974, which also makes it the oldest LEGOLAND Hotel in the world. Every year we offer a lot of resources modernizing the hotel and therefore we are very sorry to hear that it didn´t met your expectations.

The climate in Denmark doesn´t normally requires an aircondition, but we agree that it would be a good service to offer on the very varm days.

Thanks again for your input. We hope to see you again in LEGOLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

What can I say, this hotel do not deserve a high rating. Overpriced, worn down hotel rooms, too many people, stressed staff, etc. If you plan to go to Lego Land with your kids, I recommend that you choose another hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Jeanett M, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Legoland, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hi PMA 74

Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor

We are really sorry to hear that you didn´t enjoyed your stay at Hotel LEGOLAND. If you would like us to give you a more specific reply to your comments pleace send your detailed story to info@legoland.dk.

We hope to see you again in LEGOLAND Billund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Legoland

Address: Aastvej 10, Billund 7190, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund Municipality > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Legoland 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your family to the ultimate experience - a mini-holiday at Hotel LEGOLAND(R)! From the moment you arrive at the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance, you'll be delighted by interactive LEGO(R) features, fully themed bedrooms and play areas, and lots of kid's entertainment! Our hotel inspires imaginations and creates laugh-out loud memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legoland Hotel Billund
Lego Land Hotel
Hotel Land Lego
Hotel Legoland Denmark/Billund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Legoland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.