We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth... For 5y guests!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Legoland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Legoland to your Saves list
Hotel Legoland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aastvej 10, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Billund
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth... For 5y guests!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you decide to visit Legoland Billund, it is certainly a wise choice!

I recommend arriving the night before your visit to enjoy the direct access to Legoland from the hotel. As the park is opened from 10-18, one day is sufficient to visit quietly.
I recommend to pay attention to the occupancy level indicated on the web site of the park, before choosing the date of your visit, as the difference between "green" and "orange" is huge !!

The hotel offers you good packages, however, the overall budget of your stay will be significant !
We stayed in a kingdom room (knights themes). Nicely decorated... Highly appreciated by our son!

We were quite disappointed by the quality of the food at the hotel (expensive !)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Jeanett M, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Legoland, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi VirginiaM

Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor and for your nice recommendation of Hotel LEGOLAND

We are sorry though that you were dissapointed with the food and will pass on your comments to the restaurant

We hope to see you again in LEGOLAND Billund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    112
    68
    37
    16
See reviews for
186
10
2
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My kids loved this hotel - and ultimately, that's really all that matters, isn't it? You come to Legoland for them, right? The good news is, I enjoyed it to. Sure, it's not luxury: in fact, it's just a pretty straight up and down mid-range hotel (at slightly more than mid-range price!), but that value comes from the appreciating the small things. Our themed room was a delight - with comfortable beds, including cool adventure bunks for the kids. Access to the park was a breeze, and the attendant at the gates was so friendly and warm, it made for a great start to the day.

Our experience in the restaurant (two dinners, one breakfast) were excellent. We found the food to be fresh, varied and plentiful - and that was the buffet. We were served by a number of staff during our meals and all of them, without exception, were excellent. In fact, we found all the staff - at both the hotel and the park - to be very warm and friendly.

A few short weeks after visiting Legoland, we found ourselves at Disneyland Paris. Let me tell you we ALL enjoyed or Legoland experience much, much more than the Disney.

Room Tip: Our kids loved our adventure themed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Jeanett M, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Legoland, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi TB-1974

Thank you for having taken the time to rate us on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your kids loved Hotel LEGOLAND. We invest a lot of resources in training our staff to provide a good service to all our gusets and therefore we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the visit. All the roses will immediately be passed on to employees, as it is the best motivation for all of us.

We thank you for your comments and hope to see you again in Hotel LEGOLAND and the LEGOLAND park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel is OK (3 star+ I would say) in terms of the traditional hotel setup, but has lots of Lego related activities for kids, has its own entrance to the Legoland (which means you can come in and rest during the day....) and has lot cheaper 2 day tickets to the park. Breakfast was good, but for lunches I would recommend Legoland park restaurants and for dinners the restaurants in LaLandia (5 min walk from the hotel)

Room Tip: The local swimming pool / spa next door is free to use for hotel guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I'm not really sure what all the whining is about in some of the other reviews I've read here. My family (3 kids, 2 adults) had a great time and were really happy with our themed room. It was clean, tidy and fun for the kids. We also thought the service was pretty good (especially in the restaurant). Also, there's nothing like staying on the doorstep of a theme park- it is the only way to go. We found our 1 night here to be very pleasant and would recommend it. We also enjoyed the breakfast and dinners we ate in the restaurant (good choices, fresh food). There's also lots of lego and a Nintendo room for the kids to play while the adults are having a rest! We've stayed in quite a few theme park hotels over the years and this definitely sits above the average. (Have you seen the Disney hotels- terrible!)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Jeanett M, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Legoland, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi tuncf

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you and your family had a great time staying at Hotel LEGOLAND. Your nice words have been passed on as this is the absolute best motivation for all of us.

Once again thank you for your nice words, we look forwarde seeing you again in Hotel LEGOLAND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I booked this trip to legoland for my 5 year old daughter and decided to stay at the resort hotel.
On arrival at check in it is immediately apparent that the place could be doing with a bit of a lift, it is very dated, more like an 80's motel with some rather excellent lego sculptures dotted about.
The room was a pirate room which was clean and adequate but you just get the feeling that with a bit more effort it could be a really fun place to stay.
The obvious advantage is that you're right next to the park itself with a special entrance for hotel guests and you can go back and forth to your room all day if you wish which is a massive bonus.
Evening buffet was a complete disappointment and the breakfast was more school canteen than 4 star hotel.
If i was to visit legoland denmark again, which i probably won't then i would stay somewhere else.
Thumbs down from me i'm afraid.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Jeanett M, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Legoland, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi Paultee

Thank you for rating us on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the standard of Hotel LEGOLAND and we will pass on your comments to the involved department.s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Overprized - even for a Dane!
We spent one night in a very small Pirate room for 2 adults and 2 children and paid 2.800 Kroner for a room and an evening buffet. And that was a special discount.
The top bunk bed had a very small railing, so one child had to sleep in our bed which was small even for two adults.
The evening buffet was very disappointing with a very small selection of food. And the service was horrendous at the buffet.
Outdoor area has a great playground and the common areas in the hotel were nice with great Lego decorations everywhere.
All in all quite disappointing and overprized.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Jeanett M, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Legoland, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hi Anne W
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor

We are very sad to hear that you had a disappointing impression regarding your stay in Hotel LEGOLAND and therefore we kindly ask you to describe the details in an e-mail to us (info@legoland.dk) so we can investigate your case further.

We hope to see you again in Hotel LEGOLAND an the LEGOLAND park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Do not get me wrong, nothing bad with the hotel per se; if you remove the Lego theme (more on that later) you get a typical late-80s Scandinavian hotel, abundant in Denmark, Sweden, Finland, etc. It is a bit dated in the interior, but clean and well maintained. But it is just not up there in the standard of service, accommodation nor food to command Four Season resort-type prices.

The Lego theme is nice, lots of figures, posters, hints in decor, etc; but overall there is so much more potential missed! Location is great with separate entry to the park; cheapest option is to buy tickets at the reception.

Breakfast would have been better with more healthy choices and fruit; poor selection of cold cuts and way mediocre quality. Denmark has fantastic produce - what an opportunity to showcase it, why is it not taken - amazes me.

Lots of play areas for kids, which is great for parents to relax after day walking in the park...but again - why is there so little choice? Makes sense to add things like snacks for kids, milkshakes, etc... It will all result in more spend.

Again, nothing fundamentally wrong there, and staff is very nice...but the price is just not justified. If you get a good deal on the hotel - go for it, extra convenience is nice, but there is some choice in the area as well.

Of course, I cannot put money value on the child's experience and memories of staying at a Lego Hotel - it is priceless. But there is sooo much this hotel can do to make it really an "expeience of a lifetime" for both adults and kids.

Keep in mind, you will need a car to get out for food

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Jeanett M, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Legoland, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hi A_Norski_Rus
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor

We thank you for your feedback. We are always glad to have proposals from our guests for new initiatives at the Hotel LEGOLAND and we will pass on yours, to the management.

We hope to see you again at the Hotel LEGOLAND and in the LEGOLAND park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Legoland

Address: Aastvej 10, Billund 7190, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund Municipality > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Legoland 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your family to the ultimate experience - a mini-holiday at Hotel LEGOLAND(R)! From the moment you arrive at the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance, you'll be delighted by interactive LEGO(R) features, fully themed bedrooms and play areas, and lots of kid's entertainment! Our hotel inspires imaginations and creates laugh-out loud memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legoland Hotel Billund
Lego Land Hotel
Hotel Land Lego
Hotel Legoland Denmark/Billund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Legoland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.