We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location -- the best! -- but poor service, as usual.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Legoland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Legoland to your Saves list
Hotel Legoland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aastvej 10, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super location -- the best! -- but poor service, as usual.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 10 years, to visit Legoland with my kids and my parents. The location of the hotel is perfect; right on the park, with direct access in-and-out all day so that family members conveniently can go take a rest during long days of visiting Legoland. We usually a stay in the 'family room' overlooking the park. The size is good and acceptable for a family of 5. The design of the hotel was updated a few years ago, and it's truly a great hotel for kids -- it's a 'kids hotel' as they like to call it, optimized for kids of all ages to have fun with Lego bricks all day long, with building competitions, Lego treats in the rooms, etc....fun lobby design, too. The free wifi throughout the hotel is appreciated.

I decided to finally write a review after our stay in July 2011. As someone else put it, the hotel staff is "acceptably friendly", but clearly has a lot to learn from international-level hotels elsewhere in the world. The service mentality is low, and it's hard to get things that might be wrong resolved with any sort of sense of urgency or care (and I do speak Danish, so language barriers is not it). This is really unacceptable given the price of the rooms and restaurant and the "four star" rating the hotel gives itself. In addition, the fact that they will not let anyone check-in until 3pm regardless of room availability is petty and poor service (we have experienced this year after year). Two years in a row we have asked for a room near the entrance and elevators as my dad does not walk well; and two years in a row we have been put towards the end of a very long walkway -- when we pointed it out, clearly the front desk staff did not understand the lay-out of the hotel. Last year we were given another room; only to find another family in the room when we opened the door with the 'new' key......bottom line, front desk operations are near-chaotic. At the point of check-out we were presented with the various receipts from dining, lunch, etc. Some were not ours, one was from a day before we checked in, and the numbers obviously didn't add up. This was entirely unacceptable; we ended up being asked 'well, let me know what you would like to pay for' -- really?

As for the restaurant, delightful waiters, but if you stay more than two days, you'll soon get bored by the buffets which are pretty much the same selection in the morning and in the evening, respectively. It is also quite expensive, but granted tries to keep some level of standard.

The hotel is super for a park visit for two days, max; there is no better location and the kids love it. Just take the service issues with a smile and be ready to pay top dollar.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atrejseeratleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Locationwise this hotel has it all for Legoland. Own entrance, view over the park form some rooms, seamless Lego-experience for the kids, great Lego-shop in the lobby, freebies in the rooms, themed rooms. The hotel is arranged for kids, even the smallest ones can find their rooms as they are marked with easy symbols in addition to numbers, and all corridors have clear landmarks, like Lego-dragons or knights. The parking is free for quests, but you need a voucher form the reception, otherwise you'll be fined.

The hotel has a very good swimming hall next door, with a nice Spa department. Apparently done together with Billund town. Ask for your visitor card in the lobby.

The breakfast was very good, if a bit noisy, as was the buffet dinner we had on night of arrival. Very kid.friendly without being boring for adults. Excellent selection of cheeses, and a lot of stuff to choose from.

The room we had (standard, Knight wing) was quite small and basic. There were nice Lego-themed amenities in the room, and the free internet worked nicely, while being of the less-friendly HTML-login style. The beds were a bit on the soft side, and in our case the child's bed was actually a narrow sofa, not fit for bigger kids. The curtains didn't cover the windows properly, and there was a couple of centimeters gap under the door to the corridor. The newer wings might have a bit more space and flair, but overall this was quite pleasant hotel. Wouldn't recommend to business travelers during Legoland high season.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mleivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Quibbles- The new wing has the Adventure Rooms and these are overpriced. Stay in one of the other types of room. For DKR 3400 a night I would have thought there should be concierge to wheel bags to and from rooms. You can only check in from 3pm.
Plus side - The overall hotel is nicely designed as you would expect in Denmark. Staff are friendly and
helpful. Lots of great Lego features.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HorsyHorsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Legoland is everything you expect and I had really hoped the hotel with its convenience, great themed rooms and food would be too. Ok hundreds of people and children stay there. The only problem is getting correct information probably a danish problem when it comes to service and tourism. Forget the rude train staff, I wont go into that. Just fly into Billund. But hotel staff cant get bus time tables correct, or advising on weekend timetables ...simply dont worry for 500 dkk you can get to the central station by taxi. How many other people have they told that one. I was just tired of denmarks lack of service. By the way try phoning Room service..... numbers were diverted to the restaurant for some reason, you could never get reception except by walking to the desk, which is fine, I like walking but why put the phone in the room. 2 hours later they call you back, great when its midnight. Oh well, we made it after all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbennett39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Theme room filled with Lego, great for kids. Bit small rooms. Good breakfast, great gym. Restaurant for dinner is OK. Nice freebies for kids. Two days is enough, 3 or 4 if you include things like the pool across the street.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel12370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

The only reason to stay in Hotel Legoland is the outstanding location if you're visiting the Legoland theme park next door. Hotel guests have their own entrance and free parking outside the hotel. The hotel itself is by no means close to four stars and is heavily overpriced unless you take advantage of a two day package with entrance fees for Legoland, preferably off season.

We had a standard room which was very small for a family with two kids, 4 and 6 years old. The TV (a Bang Olufsen!) was out of order, a fact that was well known to the staff who simply said that the TV
reception in our wing if the hotel didn't work. The shower curtain was smelly and no one bothered to help us with a new bulb for the main ceiling lamp. We had dinner at the Adventure Restaurant, as recommended by an earlier review, and were pleased with the food. However, service was very slow and it took 30 minutes to be told that they didn't have the wine we had
ordered. All in all, Legoland itself is great if you like Lego. Hotel Legoland isn't.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hollygolightly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Billund hotels

Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This was our most expensive hotel room while in Denmark but was a splurge for the location. The room was super small and our 5 year old basically slept in a drawer covered with a cushion. The hotel felt very safe with parents milling about and kids playing and exploring everywhere. We had a Lego table with Lego in our room, which was a basic room, and there were play centres throughout the hotel. We had considered paying extra for the view of legoland, but really the view didn't look that great once we saw it so I would suggest that's not worth the extra $. Breakfast was included and 2 days of park passes which we were able to use before the check in time of 3. Weren't bothered by airport noise and the hotel itself was quiet at night as well. Staff were super friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dosen8338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billund hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Propellen
Hotel Propellen
#6 of 13 in Billund
3.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
6.4 mi away
Filskov Kro
Filskov Kro
#1 of 2 in Grindsted
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zleep Hotel Billund
Zleep Hotel Billund
#9 of 13 in Billund
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Svanen
Hotel Svanen
#2 of 2 in Grindsted
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lalandia Resort
Lalandia Resort
#2 of 13 in Billund
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
LEGOLAND Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Legoland

Address: Aastvej 10, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Legoland 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your family to the ultimate experience - a mini-holiday at Hotel LEGOLAND(R)! From the moment you arrive at the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance, you'll be delighted by interactive LEGO(R) features, fully themed bedrooms and play areas, and lots of kid's entertainment! Our hotel inspires imaginations and creates laugh-out loud memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legoland Hotel Billund
Lego Land Hotel
Hotel Land Lego
Hotel Legoland Denmark/Billund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing