We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and very basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Billund Kro

Save Saved
You added Billund Kro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Billund Kro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buen 6, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Billund
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Expensive and very basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had a family room which consisted of four small single beds, a thin duvet each and one very flat pillow. One part of the bedroom had clearly been a bathroom in a past life and there were the remnants of some bath taps with metal caps, sticking out of the wall two inches above the duvet on one of the beds! We had to re-arrange the furniture in the room to compensate for this. Breakfast was OK - the first morning we had to ask for everything as clearly nobody was taking much notice of what was left but the second morning this was better, with more choice. The place was very dated though and needs updating. It was OK for two nights - I wouldn't want to stay any longer, not just in the Kro but in Billund itself. In our opinion this hotel or 'Kro' just personifies Billund as a place, dated, very expensive, poor value for money and without a will to better itself.

We did not rate Legoland - again we found it quite unexciting, very expensive and quite dated. There doesn't seem to have been much investment in the last 25 years since when we first visited there. The only saving grace for the whole weekend was Lalandia Waterpark (opposite Legoland) and Billund Bad (swimming pool/jacuzzi/spa - excellent quality for a council run offering). Lalandia again, very expensive to get in but we spent the whole day there to try and get at least some value for money out of a ferociously expensive weekend trip to Billund! Unfortunately it was all a bit of a mistake and money not very well spent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Booked into this hotel because others were full. However, I would pay more just to be in a different hotel.
Positive: only distance to legoland
Negative: almost everything. In particular:
1. Expensive. If you think the quoted price is a bargain then wait till you see your room. Tiny, two beds as standard. Third bed is a folding one between the other two beds. Then there is no room for anything. They don't even inform you that there is a shuttle bus to legoland. So you end up in walking 15-20 mins (which is a lot having in mind walking n legoland itself plus shopping) or taking the car and finding a parking space worth DKK 50.

2. Unpleasant staff especially the owner. Treats you as another idiot going to legoland with a kid so anything goes. Because you will not refuse. You are only there for two nights (like me) and that's enough - max you can stay at this hotel. This cost me EUR 570 with two day tickets to legoland and one day pass to Givskud Zoo (worth seeing, you just have to be lucky with the weather)

3. Cleanliness. Very questionable. To my standards the hotel was very uncared for.

4. Restaurant. Rip off. Beef tenderloin for DKK 220 was not a tenderloin but an entrecote. Had an argument with the owner who tried to convince me that it was a tenderloin. Finally I got another piece of meat which also wasn't a tenderoin. On my wife's request I kept quiet just to finish dinner and go to sleep. Investigating further next day among waiting staff I found out that there was no tenderloin beef in the place, If an idiot appears who orders one the they try to make and entrecote look like one. Salmon with seasonal vegetables for DKK 188 appeared to be a small piece of salmon without any vegetables. On the first night the owner tried to sell me a "vintage" bottle of wine (just because of the year - 1997) for a "bargain" price DKK 350. On a closer look it appeared to be a "cru bourgeois" probably unsold so far. The restaurant hours vary according to "traffic" So if you are "lucky" enough to be alone at one table at 9 pm you will be asked to leave beacuse the chef is closing the kitchen!!! My advice: eat outside although Billund doesn't offer anything. There are 3 restaurants not far away (if they can be called restaurants) offering much better food cheaper. Plus a hot dog and hamburger kiosk - the best value and your kids will love it.

5. Breakfast. According to the quality of the hotel. Nothing special. Poor selection of everything: one kind of cheese, two (salami and some unidentified minced sausage) cold meats, boiled eggs. And of course jam, honey, local choccolate spread. Bad coffee and no selection of teas. I expected at least some famous danish bacon etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Went to this hotel because there was no other availability in town anymore. Purpose was to visit Legoland with my 10-year old son. I am disappointed with the quality of the offering compared to the price. A small indication:
- we were not let in the room one hour before check-in time (14.00 hrs), although it was ready. We had to change clothes in the toilet and leave our bags in the hall.
- we were not told that a free shuttle bus was available to Legoland. Advise was to walk.
- on check-out our money was taken with a solid face. No smile, no thank you, no question if everything was ok. No interest in the guest
- Other personnel did not greet in the hallway. We seemed to be a number only.
- Breakfast table was dirty. Stains in the coffee/teacups. Some glasses not clean. No check after the dishwasher?
- Room was no more than basic. No atmosphere, shower doors mouldy, leaking. Shower head did not stay upright. Window curtains are of the see-through kind. Had to drape spare bedcovers/towels over them to keep some light out. Overall youth hostel quality.
- Room on street side: next door is supermarket with early morning traffic. Try to get on other side.
Photo on the website looks much more picturesque than the hotel really is. See my pictures

We did not feel like welcome guests. Considering the rate (280 euro for 2 nights including breakfast....) this was definitely not a good experience.

Some tips on Legoland:
Good walking distance from hotel to Legoland (15 min)
Good alternative is free shuttle bus, stopping right in front of hotel (pick up timetable at the check-in desk)
Eating anywhere in Billund is cheap but do not expect much subtlety. To be preferred over eating in Legoland.
If you are going for Legoland only, 1 night is enough for visiting 2 days: take the shuttle from legoland to the airport to catch an evening flight. Only takes 10 minutes. Legoland is very close to the airport (and Billund)
Pick up a map at the Information desk at the airport. Friendly people.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Hotel is convenient for Legoland visitors, and the Room Rate was seasonably high as a consequence. The rooms and shower facilities are best described as basic, without any pretension of luxury. Luggage had to be moved by ourselves up several flights and through various corridors to our First Floor Rooms. Aside from this, we found the staff members friendly and attentive, esp. at the Hotel's Restaurant. Dinner was nothing special and quite pricey, but generally satisfying --more in the sense of quantity than quality. Breakfast was a relatively better experience. Paying by Credit Card incurred a small additional Fee. Parking was easy and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Billund Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billund Kro

Also Known As:
Billund Kro Denmark
Address: Buen 6, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund Municipality > Billund
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Billund Kro 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Billund Kro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billund Kro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.