We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel

Save Saved
You added Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel
Skjoldbjergvej 45 | Vorbasse, Billund 6623, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Billund B&B and Inns
Roma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

My family and I have spent a lovely stay in this hotel. The owners are very kind. The rooms are large and comfortable. For breakfast you can taste home made jams, bread and fresh fruit. The hotel is located only 9 km from Legoland and Billund airport.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haute Savoie
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here when visiting Legoland and had arrived by train/bus from Copenhagen in the late afternoon. The hotel owner came to the bus station to pick us up and advised us that as there were no restaurants nearby he would drive us to the supermarket on the way back so we could buy something to eat - and upon our return we were welcome to borrow plates, cups etc. The next morning after a nice breakfast he drove us to Legoland! Both he and his wife were unbelievably kind and I felt went out of their way to make us feel welcome. In addition the bedroom was enormous, very comfortable and with lovely views over the garden - which you are also welcome to use and has a sandpit, climbing frame and goal posts. And should it be raining, boxes of toys for the children to play with are inside. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We staid at this hotel during our visit to Legoland. This is absolutely the best place to stay if you're visiting Legoland either with your own car or a rental. The hotel is about 10 minutes drive from Legoland.

The hotel is small and has less than ten rooms but the rooms are big. There's are large backyard where children can play and where you can grill your own food if you like. Hotel has children's toys (especially Legos) which was a pleasant surprise to our daughter.

The hotel serves a breakfast. For lunch or dinner you need to either eat somewhere else (for example in Lalaland or Legoland) or bring your own food. After a long day at Legoland we grilled our dinner at the hotel which was very relaxing. 

We especially enjoyed the home-like feeling at this hotel an the service was excellent. 

Room Tip: The family rooms are very good when traveling with 1 or 2 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was a little guest house which had all the comodities - the bedroom also included a nice living room with armchairs, spacious toilet, good English breakfast (also continental if desired) and a nice lawn where the children could run and play. The location is quiet and not very far away from Legoland - however you do need a car to go there as there is no public transport. The owners of the guest house are very courteous and very helpful. Very nice people indeed! She even washed my children's clothes when we arrived because they headed straight to the lawn which was wet and ended up very dirty and soggy.

Very good value for the money we paid. We would love to go back again.

Legoland was nice, similar to the one in Windsor, perhaps a bit smaller. Pricing of food is slightly higher than what we are used to in Malta.

Room Tip: Rent a car - the streets are literally empty. No traffic at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Our family stayed in the family room, arranged as one double bed and two singles. The room was spacious (our 6 year old said "huge"), clean, and off a sitting area on the landing equipped with a basket of information about the area. The building itself is pretty and our windows looked out at the church and its cemetery with lots of colorful flowers blooming. My kids particularly appreciated the climbing structure and sandbox in the backyard to help them unwind after the drive from Copenhagen. I appreciated the owner's offer of hot tea on arrival for the same reason.
We appreciated using the Lalandia parking pass one can borrow with the room to go to a delicious dinner buffet there and let the kids play in the play area there afterward. It also saved on Legoland parking the next day.
A highlight of our stay, for me, was the breakfast. The pastries in particular were delicious--I'd been trying Danish pastry since I got to Denmark and these were the best I had anywhere. I also appreciated that the owner brought a high chair right over for my youngest when we came down to eat. The whole place was child-friendly while being low-key and relaxing for adults, too--perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Great location, family-like hospitality, silence, cosy building and the rooms, excellent breakfast. Clean, comfortable beds, convenient parking place.

There is no pool or elevator to the second floor :-))) At this place you just don't think of those. You'll love the hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Rooms are basic, but clean and have all what you need. Most importantly though owners are very nice and wellcoming people, so you do feel yourself at home - this makes all the difference.
Breakfast is good and even though there is no restaurant as such, you can get some food at the supermarket and eat at the hotel - in the breakfast area. Owners will help to heat things up if needed and there's even a grill at the back yard if the weather is good. This is much better than to go out for a greasy pizza in Billund.
We traveled with friends - 7 people alltogether and thought that Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel was an excellent choice for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel

Address: Skjoldbjergvej 45 | Vorbasse, Billund 6623, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund Municipality > Billund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel Denmark/Billund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.