We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Time had by all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lalandia Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lalandia Resort to your Saves list
Lalandia Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ellehammers Alle 3, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Billund
Certificate of Excellence
Kristianstad, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Time had by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

I traveled to Billund with my 4 year old son last May from our home in Southern Sweden. I had promised him a trip to Legoland and figured if we were going to travel 5 hours by train we should at least stay a few days and then when I discovered Lalandia through a flier in the mail, it sounded perfect--and for us it was! Legoland is literally across the street, about 10 minute walk. The holiday homes are adorable and though I just read a terrible review of how awful they were in design and building quality, this is simply not true unless you're expecting the Four Seasons. No there aren't linens, but you can rent for a low cost upon making your reservations. Scandinavians prefer bringing their own sheets when visiting places so this is not unusual for the region. Secondly, we spent hardly any time there since you're literally gone all day either at Legoland or the water park, both of which were so much fun. The only thing that I would warn about is make sure you know exactly where your holiday home is located and the name of the street because there are several gates and if your code doesn't work, you're at the wrong gate. This happened to us and was the only problem we had during our trip. Holiday homes were adorable and perfect for families!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    77
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
155
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

The LALANDIA Aquadome--to which you receive admission when you book a holiday home--is like a cross between an American K-Mart and a Disneyland food court, complete with perpetual dusk and stucco hacienda. The holiday homes are privately owned, cheaply built, and soul-less--pretty much the low-end of Danish design. You need to bring your own linens, and if you arrive after 6:00 pm there is no one there to help you. If you choose to go, read the fine print carefully, because there is no compassion here if you screw up.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

Just got back, we stayed here for 4 nights in a 4+ house. Its was excellant. The accomodation was very clean, the cookeer looked as if it had never been used and the house smelled of pine. Its so new the grass hasn't fully grown around the site. There are a few kid play parks sprinkled thru the site and luckily there was one at the back of us. Our house was a bit difficult to find at first as the site is so big. There are numerous different sizes of of accomodation but its right next to billund airport. Ryanair flights from stanstead. we went across on the ferry from harwich so brought a lot of food etc with us, to save on cost. Denmark is expensive there is no doubt on that 10 dk for a bag of crisps which is about £1.20. Also within walking distance from legoland. The main site has a aqua dome, indoor crazy golf, large sports hall, ten pin bowling, supermarket and a couple of restaurants. Buy a 100dk car park season pass to save you on the daily 50dk parking. Or if you are going send me a message and i will send you ours it lasts until december. We booked directly with lalandia and as it was off peak and got a good deal. The aqua park was brilliant lots of slides and pools fr different ages. All in all really lovely and quiet place you don't need a car if you want to go to legoland and lalandia but do bring plenty of cash with you as nothing is cheap in denmark.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

As part of our Europe travel we included Legoland for the kids and stumbled on this amazing accommodation.
The houses for accommodation we beautiful and fit our family of 4 and my extended family in total 7 very comfortably. The whole accommodation area was beautiful and we enjoyed a walk around.
The facilities - waterpark, kids junge gym, restaurants and cafes, grocery store - all great and the Staff were very helpful with our no knowledge of Danish.
The kids had just as much fun in the 'dome' as at Legoland and would recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for an adventure with the kids.
LOVED the icecream. We also went into Billund, was a cute little village with a great bakery

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury st edmunds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We are a family of 5 - 2 teenagers and 1 six year old. This was our 3rd visit to Billund and our second to Lalandia. Last year we stayed in the fantastic houses they have here before the Aquadrome was open. This year we stayed in a 6+ house which was clean, well built and vey modern. A train runs throughout the day every 30mins to the you the mile back and forwards to the Aquadome. The trains are on time and if you are 5 mins late you'll have missed it. You will have to pay about £10 per person for bed sheets and towels and around £20 enviromental charge for a 4 night stay.

We travelled to Billund with Ryanair who have a great service from Stanstead. We paid £50 for 5 people inc taxes which id fantastic value. Our flight left at 8am and we were in Legoland by 11am after having checked in at Lalandia. One tip, Ryanair baggage policy is very strict 15 kgs no more! Also take sarnies on the plane their food and drink is a complete rip off - £3.20 for a cup-o-soup! £5.20 for a small can of pear cider!

Inside Lalandia there is Monky Tonky land for the small kids to play in some very expensive gift shops and places to eat. There is also a supermarket on site and the prices are very similar to the 3 supermarkets in Billund. So it's not really worth walking in to town to save a few Kroner. One thing that is the good value is Danish speciliality lager - expect to pay about £1.30 for a small bottle of 10.5% strength.

The Aquadome is great for kids of all ages. The Tornado is a great slide for up to 4 people. There are 2 smaller flumes and an Octopus racer flume which is great - the black run is fastest! The area has 2 saunas (one hot, one very hot) a cave pool wher you can see tropical fish, lazy rive and a wave machine. There is a great basket ball pool too. Drinks, ice cream and pizza are available poolside too. The large pizza is not bad value for Denmark.

The centre is perfectly located to visit Legoland and a discounted rate is available to visit the park every day of your Lalandia visit - we paid about £35 per person for the 5 days we were there. If you visit at the end of August during the week the park is very quiet. All the Danish kids have gone back to school so there's no waiting for rides and you should be able to get back on as soon as you've finished

So all in all this is a great place to stay but it's not cheap. If you can afford it it's well worth it - better than Centre Parcs in my opinion!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

Roomy and sunny (read: no dark rooms at the night time either) new cottages within a reasonable walk to Lalandia centre (0.5 to 1.5 km) and Legoland (a further 0.5 km). A train (little bus) service also available about every half an hour during the day time to the centre. 3 nights for the price of 2 in certain days is a fair deal. Would be helpful to have a car but ok without if you are ready to walk reasonably lot.

In June 2009 the centre was still new and that showed in several ways, like signs (agendas, menus, instructions etc) mostly only in Danish language, poor knowledge of English of service personnel (particularly restaurant staff in the evenings) and delays&mistakes in restaurant service. Generally, friendly staff though, particularly helpful and friendly in service centre.

Lots of activities for children and generally very childfriendly atmosphere. Very nice waterpark included in the price; mainly good for a little bit older children. Monkey Tonkey land (incl. in the price too) great for smaller children (under about 8 years; older ones will enjoy it for about half an hour at a time).

Generally, a good base to explore Legoland with a nice selection of activities in the centre for those not so sunny days.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lalandia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalandia Resort

Address: Ellehammers Alle 3, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund Municipality > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalandia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lalandia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalandia Billund Hotel Billund
Lalandia Resort Denmark/Billund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lalandia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.