We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit of Fun” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LEGOLAND Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added LEGOLAND Holiday Village to your Saves list
LEGOLAND Holiday Village
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Ellehammers Alle 2, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Bit of Fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a welcome. On arrival we were welcomed, helped & informed of all around by an enthusiastic staff member. The village offers a range of accommodation from tent sites through to cabins & Motel type rooms.
Our option was a Motel room. This was basic but comfortable. It was amusing to be given a linen & towel package on arrival,so first task, make the bed. Amusing again, 2 single sheets & doona covers for a double bed. Our ground floor room was noisy when someone moved any furniture upstairs. Great to be close to LegoLand which was great. 10 minute walk to LegoLand. Downside was that the day we arrived Legoland was closed, the Village was not busy, so the restaurant & shop were closed. Saved by the fact that adjacent attraction, LaLandia, was open & had food outlets & shop as well as many activities to do.
The Lego theme of the room & Village was great, & lots of Lego for kids, young & old, to play with.
We travelled by train & then bus from Copenhagen, it was only a short walk from the bus stop to the village.

Room Tip: If taking a Motel type room upstairs is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    24
    14
    3
See reviews for
75
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family bought a 2-day pass and stayed in Legoland Village for 2 nights in July 2013. In general, the Legoland Village is at a good location, ie. within 10 minutes walking distance to the theme park. On the last day morning, when the hotel staff (I guess she is a senior staff) realized that her colleague has given us a wrong advice on the bus (the one to Billund train station) schedule, she immediately drove us by her private car to the next bus stop to catch the bus. We greatly appreciated her kind help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was a fun stay in the LEGOLAND village there are some great things for the kids to do a water park next door or swimming pool up the road. The cabin was great only need food and everything else is there already. There is a shop on site but pricey, bikes are on site to rent and a few parks to play in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend four days here in May. The staff were very welcoming both in the hotel and the park. It catered for a range of age groups, with rides for young children, teenagers and adults. But the miniature exhibits were spectacular. The only downside was the prices here, it is very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed three nights in an L5 camping hut with the family (3 kids), without a car, rented linen. The cottage was small and simple but tidy, with its own water boiler.

We had booked a package, so we had one dinner and breakfasts. The dinner was a buffet, ok but nothing special. The breakfasts were quite crowded and relatively simple. Bread, cereals, cheese, jam, ham, coffee, juice, no porridge or even cooked eggs. You would have easily gotten similar breakfasts by walking/driving to the supermarkets at the town centre (5 minutes by car, 15-20 by walking), and without the crowds.

The ventilation in the cottage was what you would expect in a camping cottage -- we had to keep the windows slightly open during the night to keep the temperature and humidity reasonable. The beds were small and the mattresses somewhat hard.

Perhaps the biggest minus was that at the dinner you didn't get any plain tap water, even when we asked separately, but had to pay almost 3 euro (20 DKK) for each 1/2 litre of bottled water. That was not very nice when we arrived there thirsty after a few ours in the sun.

The place is next to Lalandia, a new artificial indoor "experience park" with a nice water park. Legoland is some 10 minutes walk away. There is a free shuttle bus once an hour between the town centre, hotels, Legoland, and airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naantali, Finland
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Well, if you want to sleep close to Legoland without having to pay twice the standard room rate, you have to go for this. Small and simple summer cottages with nothing special. Not even the linen. Still with the price of hotel room. There was a nice dinner buffet available though! And of course a great place for kids to play if Legoland is not enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good location, close to Legoland, once you know which direction to head in. We were dropped off at the Legoland Hotel right next to the resort, so had to ask at their reception area for directions. Legoland Village is then only a 5 – 10 minute walk away at the most.

We arrived quite late, having got the train from Copenhagen, and then the local bus from Vejle to Billund (buses appeared to be on the hour and we had just missed one when we arrived in Vejle so had an hour long wait at the bus station).

Reception was closed when we finally arrived to check in at around 9.30pm (again, I think we had just missed it!) so we had to wait a for someone from the restaurant (also just closed) to get a member of staff. A gentleman appeared to give us our room key and advised that he had tried to call us to find out where we were. We hadn’t realised there would be any issues with late arrival.

We enquired about bedding and towels as our booking confirmation stated that these weren’t part of our room rate and could be hired at additional cost, and were advised that these had already been placed in the room for us.

The room was clean and well equipped, with decent shower, comfortable double bed (as well as a single bed and extra pull out bed for families), table & chairs, small flat screen TV (with some good English channels) and lots of Lego features (our room was pirate themed!)

This was really just a place for us to lay our heads for the night, for easy access to Legoland the following morning, and we didn’t have breakfast or use any of the facilities in the hostel, but all in, I would certainly recommend as a stop-over for visiting Legoland and other nearby attractions – good value accommodation (for Denmark) with an added bonus of not being charged extra for our linen and towels, and also luggage room for storing our bags for the day, free of charge.

The only negative aspect was that the staff weren’t the friendliest, especially the older lady on reception, who was unable to offer much more than a stern glare.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LEGOLAND Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LEGOLAND Holiday Village

Address: Ellehammers Alle 2, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund Municipality > Billund
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LEGOLAND Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of LEGOLAND® is the new LEGOLAND® Holiday Village, a cosy holiday location for the entire family, including a hostel, cabins and a campsite with lots of outdoor activities and plenty of room for fun and games. Live like cowboys in our impressive Wild West cabins, real Indians in our tipi tents or like pirates in our family rooms. Or bring your own caravan or tent and enjoy the many activities and features offered at the campsite.LEGOLAND Holiday Village features a LEGO® shop, playgrounds, a petting zoo, bonfire sites and, naturally, excellent shopping opportunities. We also offer a pirate restaurant where you can enjoy a large and delicious breakfast buffet or your evening meal. Furthermore, we are neighbours of the Lalandia aqua park and Billund Bad swimming centre if you feel like having a splash. Bring your entire family to LEGOLAND® Holiday Village. You will have the best time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your LEGOLAND Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legoland Village Hotel Billund
LEGOLAND Holiday Village Denmark/Billund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LEGOLAND Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.