We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel with a wonderful view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Helnan Marselis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Helnan Marselis Hotel to your Saves list
Helnan Marselis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strandvejen 25, Aarhus 8000, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Aarhus
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A nice hotel with a wonderful view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel is in the forest and with a fantastic view at the seaside.
Excellent place to go for a walk/run.
The staff is very nice and helpfull.
The hotel seems a little old and needs a make over..
I wasn't impressed by the food - at any meals. I had lunch twice and the dishes was almost the same every day. Although they had very nice cheese.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room that's not in the basement. The view is better the higher up you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Direktør at Helnan Marselis Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear MEB280164,

Thank you for making a review on Tripadvisor regarding Helnan Marselis Hotel.

Very nice to hear that you used the nice location for running/walking and that our staff took well care of you.

We are actually upgrading the hotel at the moment, with new luminaire for many bathrooms, new pillows for all rooms, painting many rooms and new chairs for the balcony's etc.
The hotel was finished renovated in 2009 for a significant two-digit million amount.

It sounds like you had our buffet for lunch. We also do have a á la carte card for lunch, that gives our guests the opportunity to choose a nice plated meal. Helnan Marselis Hotel is usually known for serving excellent food.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Helnan Marselis Hotel and wish you a pleasant week.

Best Regards

Mark Fisher
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    43
    42
    15
    5
See reviews for
17
35
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Helnan is such a nice hotel. Well appointed rooms, sea views, gym, pool with good bar and fantastic food. The hotel is well located too, just a 10 minute walk to the harbour which has a fantastic fish restaurant and bars.

Room Tip: View is better the higher up you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helnanmarselishotel, Direktør at Helnan Marselis Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Chopper_Bass,

I would like to thank you for the nice review made here on trip-advisor regarding our hotel.

We all also really do enjoy working at this beautiful location every day.

Wish you a pleasant day and looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards


Mark Fisher
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballerup
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I arrived around 21:30 - 22:00 and there were no staff in the reception and I had to wait for 10-15 minutes before the staff arrived. Maybe because of sick staff. the room was nice although a bit dated. The breakfast was very nice with all what you could expect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Pretty good value for money and good sleep quality. The location is great for the seaside but some distance from the city centre. Found staff pleasant, helpful and professional. Room with excellent sea view and nice faux-Chesterfield armchairs. A little bit Swiss chalet style, late 1960s, half expecting Sean Connery to knock on the door. Bathroom was the unpleasant wet room variety but a cut above the ones where everything gets wet. Good size too and nice underfloor heating. Enjoyed breakfast, good range, Pretty pleasant somewhat worn hotel with no nasty surprises but inconvenient for the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My first trip to Denmark and it was awesome :).
The view from the rooms is awesome, great beach hotel in Aarhus. Breakfast is very good and is included in the tariff. We enjoyed the walk along the water and also visited the deer park which is very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in August and would definitely stay again. The balcony and the view were beautiful. We ask to be on the water side and were glad we did. Breakfast was good and included. You are about 2 km from town so if you wanted to be right in town you aren't. We enjoyed the walk along the water to get into town.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just got back from 5 night stay at Helnan Marselis Hotel in Arhus, Denmark and I found the hotel to be up to my standards and in line, or better, than the reviews I had read prior to my trip. It was picture perfect weather the last week of August and being right on the water was a definite plus.

The hotel is not super fancy, or anything over the top but it was nice, clean and suitable for my purposes. We enjoyed having beers out in the front patio after a long day at the office, beers on the back patio overlooking the water, and beers on the roof top deck as well. I also enjoyed getting up early a few days and running both north and south of the hotel on the flat, paved trails along the park and water (North), and also the hilly, dirt trails through the trees (South).

The breakfast buffet was quite good and I had no issues with it, I actually rather enjoyed it. They had both the typical American hot food choices (eggs, bacon, sausage) and the more European cold choices (breads, meats, cheeses), of which I did enjoy both.

We had a large group dinner for about 15 people on our final night at the hotel and it was quite good as well. We ended the night having drinks on the back patio over looking the water.

My only complaint would really have to be the work out area or gym. They do have treadmills, ellipticals, etc but they do not have any free weights or machines worth using. They do have one large multi purpose machine but I really did not find it worth using. They do have a nice pool, hot tub and dry sauna which I did enjoy one evening.

I just started a new job and will be going to Denmark a few times a year and doubt the weather will be as nice for my next trip in late January (joke). I will have no problem staying at this hotel again on future trips.

Shawn in N CA

Room Tip: You want to look over the water not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helnan Marselis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helnan Marselis Hotel

Address: Strandvejen 25, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aarhus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Helnan Marselis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helnan Marselis HotelOverlooking miles of elegant Danish coastline, Helnan Marselis Hotel reflects the timeless elegance and beauty of the Kattegat Sea. Guest are invited to experience a unique combination of nature and culture through the property’s extensive history and surroundings. Situated between the sea and the beautiful Marselisborg forest, the hotel is ideally located near the royal family’s summer residence and the vibrant but charming city of AarhusLuxurious rooms and facilities such as our indoor swimming pool, fitness room and gym, ensure our guests a unique and memorable experience. Recent careful renovations have successfully consolidated Helnan Marselis Hotel’s position as one of Scandinavia’s most attractive hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Helnan Marselis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Helnan Marselis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helnan Marselis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.