We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, even with young children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Aarhus City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Aarhus City to your Saves list
Scandic Aarhus City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ostergade 10, Aarhus, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Aarhus
Tienen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay, even with young children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We had a nice stay here.the hotel is situated central to places of interest so we could walk everywhere, even with the children. We had two connecting rooms with an extra bed, there was enough space. The wooden floors make it look clean en contemporary. Staff was friendly and helpful. Due to our son getting ill and a late night visit to hspital they allowed us to check out of the room later, which was a great help. We asked for a room away from the elevator, which gave us the peace and quiet we wanted, but the wifi didn' t work well. We ate in the hotel's crestaurant once which was nice but definitely overpriced. There were vere nice touches for the kids e.g they were given a viewmaster as a menu with a selection of Jamie Oliver 's dishes from the children's menu. Also at check-in there was a nice little gift for the children as well. The shower was nice, but i would have liked the possiblity of a bathtub. Also, a small fridge in the room would be nice. breakfast was nice with a good variety and selection. I only missed freshly pressed juice. There was a nice little playroom in the breakfast area so the parents could enjoy the buffet a bit longer when kids were fedup.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina C, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus City, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear amoebeTienen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is highly appreciated. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Scandic Aarhus City.

Yours Sincerely
Nina Carlslund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    106
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
42
52
3
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here with my fiance while he was on business in the city. Having never been to Scandinavia I was unsure what to expect with regards to standard of hotel. I was pleased on our arrival to find a functional room that was clean and tidy. Yes, there is no bathtub in the bathroom but I find that this is not unusual in modern hotels (I'm not sure about showering directly opposite a mirror though - a little bit too much of myself first thing in the morning!). I would have liked a mini bar in the room to keep drinks cool but the shop based at reception was handy enough so long as you remember to take any drinks up with you at bedtime. I loved that the waste basket was organised into recyclable material sections (we in the UK could learn from this example) but the plastic section wasn't big enough for all my empty coca-cola drinks bottles from the shop!

The location is excellent - my fiance was able to walk to the conference he was attending at the Musikhuset within minutes. For me, there to explore the city, it was also a perfect location. In fairness, the city is very compact and you can walk anywhere on a nice day (thankfully the three days I had were lovely and it only rained on our arrival and departure!). The nearby Art museum and Rainbow Panorama is a treat and there are a number of lovely restaurants at a maximum of 15 minutes walk.

The staff at front desk were always polite and we were even able to get a few restaurant recommendations. As I hear about the rest of Scandinavia eating out was rather expensive for the size of portions. I was happy with the more reasonable portions (not heaped on the plate) but would have liked it to have been easier on the purse strongs. The restaurant in the hotel is a step more expensive than this but definitely worth eating in. We ate here twice and the vegetables are so fresh, the food is cooked perfectly and the staff will do anything they can to help you. I really felt like I'd had a proper wholesome meal after eating in the hotel restaurant - the real gem in the hotel's crown.

The hotel had only been open a few weeks when we visited in the middle of June and they were experiencing a few teething problems; the fire alarm went off three days in a row and on the first day we had just arrived and got woken from our nap only to find the fire exit confusing as it only seemed to take us into a maze of paths at the back of the hotel (and I had actually studies the exit map on our door!) - thank heavens it was only an alarm! I think they got it sorted eventually though as it stopped at the end of our trip but the lack of information from staff about it being a drill was a little concerning. Also, I couldn't buy city passes to get discount on attractions as they didn't have a license to sell these yet. However, I think this should be sorted by now and the staff advised other hotels (including a neighbouring Scandic nearby) where I could purchase the pass.

All in all, a lovely first experience in Scandinavia. While other aspects of the trip were responsible for me wanting to visit Scandinavia again, the hotel helped contribute to this desire; primarily because of the high quality restaurant and exposure to local cuisine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina C, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus City, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Alisonannk

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is highly appreciated. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Scandic Aarhus City.

Yours Sincerely
Nina Carlslund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Spent one night on a business trip while the hotel had just been open for a week or so. Location is definitely good if you want to stay downtown Aarhus, but no fancy views etc. Nice that everything is brand new of course, but the atmosphere was sad and boring and I found the staff rather impersonal. Breakfast had probably been good were it not for too many beginner's problems.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina C, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus City, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear ThomasDK1974,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is highly appreciated. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Scandic Aarhus City.

Yours Sincerely
Nina Carlslund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great location in the center of Aarhus, nice and new but a bit small rooms. the breakfast and the service at the breakfast was outstanding. parking is in the basement under the hotel this is not includede.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina C, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus City, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear qahd,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is highly appreciated. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Scandic Aarhus City.

Yours Sincerely
Nina Carlslund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Scandic Aarhus City hotel is relatively situated within major attraction of the city. It is roughly less than 500 meters walking distance from the central station. It is also quite new, in fact, as of this writing, you cannot find the entire building on Google Earth Street View.

The lobby was agreeably welcoming with lots of couches. The room looks a bit generic like most other major brands of hotel chain and it doesn't have enough uniqueness worth to be mention.

Internet connection in the 4th floor was good and the TV has enough channels to be entertained. However, the room is not equipped with a fridge or a mini bar and the WC doesn't have a tub. As for their breakfast buffet, which is included in the rate, served continental breakfast with plentiful to choose from.

All in all, I recommend this hotel for future guest solely on the merit that this is new and working accordingly to most visitors' basic needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina C, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus City, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Ulrick,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your visit in Aarhus. And thank you for taking the time to write us feedback. This only helps us improving our services.
I will encourage Google street view to do some new satellite fotos of aarhus city so that we can appear on them as a hotel and not as a construction site - thank you for sharing that!

Best regards
Nina Carlslund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Close to the rainbow, dock and the old houses. The room Was spacius with comfortable beds.
The bathroom contained products from FACE which was nice. Internet is free. Nice dinner in the hotel. PArking is close by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina C, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus City, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Ekqvist,
Thank You very much for takting the time to do a positive review on tripadvisor. It is highly appreciated and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Scandic Aarhus City.
Best regards Nina Carlslund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

As this is a new hotel its nice and modern. The location is very central. The breakfast was the highlight. It was comparatively expensive but being July this seemed to be the going rate in Denmark.
The parking under the hotel is totally separate from the hotel and cost 160 kr per day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina C, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus City, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Paul 1178,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write such a positive review, It is highly appreciated!
Best regards Nina Carlslund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Aarhus City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Aarhus City

Address: Ostergade 10, Aarhus, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Aarhus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Aarhus City 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to hotel Scandic Aarhus City Hotel Scandic Aarhus City opened on 1 June 2012 and is situated on Ostergade, in the centre of Aarhus. This hotel is the third Scandic hotel in Aarhus. This hotel is centrally located in Aarhus, within walking distance of shops and sights. Visit Aarhus' Old Town and the AroS art museum with its famous Rainbow panorama. Find Aarhus' popular pedestrian street, "Stroget", with its shops and department stores such as Magasin and Salling, just outside the hotel. Climb to the top of the hotel for an impressive view over Aarhus city and the harbour, as well as the woods and beaches.Facility Our hotel restaurant and bar, The Grill – Drinks & Dining, is a central meeting spot, both for hotel guests and Aarhus locals. Here you can enjoy a drink, a tasty dinner, or just relax with a cup of coffee. There're solar panels on the roof of hotel Scandic Aarhus City that supply the hotel with 90% of the electricity used in our hotel rooms. Our hotel is also one of Denmark's most accessible hotels, with 22 rooms for disabled and a fully-accessible conference area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Aarhus City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Aarhus City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.