We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit at First Hotel Europa Aalborg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Europa to your Saves list
First Hotel Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europa Plads 1, Aalborg 9000, Denmark (Formerly Quality Hotel Aalborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Aalborg
Oslo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice visit at First Hotel Europa Aalborg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very clean room & areas in hotel. Friendly and serviceminded staff.
Nice breakfast with good selection of food and beverages. Secure, well lit & clean parking area under hotel. Great location for visiting Aalborg
Bar is small and in connection with reception, but it worked just fine....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    59
    27
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
22
3
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cali
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

A very good cost/benefit balance. Comfortable rooms and a very good breakfast. Location of the hotel is near the main bus station and musical forest. Definitively i recommend this hotel in Aalborg....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solna, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The good's:
- Staff. Staff. And staff. This hotel wouldn't be what it is without it's great crew.
- Breakfast is a nice treat, served by Maj one of the sweetest Danes around.
- New flat screen TV.
- 10 minutes walking distance to party street Jomfru Ane gade. (15 minutes walking back :)

The bad's:
- Beds are old, soft and worn down.

This is a very basic hotel with an unusual and extraordinary staff. From the moment you check in, thru breakfast and until that moment you check out you feel that you're in extremely good hands. Staff is caring, thoughtful and it is evident that they actually like working with people.

Rooms are OK. Not the latest design, but sufficient for a good night's sleep. Personally I wish they'd take out that ticking analog clock and install electrical sockets closer to bed.

Room Tip: The hotel offers a few specialties, be sure to ask at the reception (or include in booking) if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Weekend visiting family. The staff were excellent nothing was too much trouble. The room was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay again and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Best Breakfast in Town.
While not the coziest hotel imaginable, it is always clean and the beds are good.
Good proximity to restaurant and entertainment areas.
Easy to get to. Always available parking (almost).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Conveniently close to the city, nice rooms, helpful staff.
Rooms are nice and clean, nicely renovated and vero good bathrooms. Also, the bed was very comfy..
Lobby/lounge a bit without atmosphere; no bar area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I loved this hotel- location was great, excellent breakfast, friendly staff who were excellent.

I gave this hotel a terrible rating because if you are a business traveller a decent night's sleep is essential. I have never popped as many Ibren in my life - after 3 days I changed hotel's.

Management need to invest in better beds. I slept a maximum of 3 hours a night which made for rough days ahead.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuno R, Direktør at First Hotel Europa, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I sorry to hear that you did not find our beds comfortable enough, and i am sorry that you did not mentioned it to our staff, as we have different options.

It is individual if you prefer a bed hard or soft - or maybe some where in the middle.

Our outstanding Jensen Beds does allmost every day get positive feedback, but offcourse some guests prefer other options once in a while.

If you get back to Aalborg, please let os know what kind og comfort you need, and we will try to find a bed just perfect for you.

Best Regards

Kuno Becker-Rasmussen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Europa

Address: Europa Plads 1, Aalborg 9000, Denmark (Formerly Quality Hotel Aalborg)
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Aalborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Aalborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Aalborg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.