We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff are good but it feel a bit shabby around the edges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Prinsen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Prinsen Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Prinsen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsensgade 14-16, Aalborg 9000, Denmark   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20-30%
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Aalborg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The staff are good but it feel a bit shabby around the edges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip and was a little dissappointed with the decor. The floors and walls of the communal areas looked very worn although I think they were in the process of having some work done so this might improve shortly. I had a single room which turned out to be very small with little more than the cheapest Swedish furniture available in it. The room itself was hot and even leaving the window open all day did not seem to cool the room down. I left the window open at night but found it could be quite noisy with the volume of traffic on the roads.

On the plus side, the small number of staff meant that you see the same faces regularly, and they were quite smiley and polite during my stay. I also found the continental breakfast basic (being English I prefer a cooked one) but adequate enough to get me through the day.

Overall, if you are looking for somewhere to drop your head for the night then this hotel is a good option as the price makes it good value. If you require a bit more luxury then it may be worth giving it a miss.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
6
5
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Spent a long weekend in Aalborg due to a footballcup. Hotel is located centrally, Breakfastbuffet is quite ok and the room we had (3-beds) was nice with a large bathroom. Very good value for money, Recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Once we walked into the room, we got quite shocked. The room was so small that it wasn´t even possible to open to door properly, since the room was so small. The pillows were awfull and dirty and the beds uncomfortable. The water in the sink were only cold, and it took a lot of work to get the water in the shower to become slightly warm. Great location, no doubts about that. All in all, quite dissapointing. But than again, it´s really cheap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Great place to stay because it is just across the railway station, and close to the supermarket and the heart of the city. Rooms are pricey; the double room superior is spacious. Unfortunately the same cannot be said of the bathroom. Buffet breakfast is good, not great. Wi-fi is fantastic. There is also a computer room. I enjoyed the facility of hot chocolate throughout the day - must have had it at least 3-4 times during the day. Definitely recommend this place for anyone visiting Aalborg.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I have been coming back to the Prinsens Hotel for several years now. Sure, the rooms are small and it's an older building, and the bathrooms in the rooms are so small, but once you get accustomed, it's fine. The breakfast buffet is superb, there is a computer room and generally there is not a long wait to use the computer, there are maps of Aalborg free to guests, the staff are very friendly and know the area, it is so close to the train and bus stations, and near the old part of town with many points of interest in walking distance. I've always enjoyd my stays and they make me feel welcome and right at home. When I go to Aalborg, this is where I want to stay. It is much quieter on the east side, though. Danish trains are quiet, but their brakes... not so quiet!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

The hotel is in an old building near the train stations of Aalborg, close to car parking. Location so it is good, because of the inner centre is within walking distance. Breakfast buffet included is good with a wide choice. Rooms and bed-clothes were not clean, room lights broken. Receptionist were not so kind and reception working hours was very short (sunday closed, for example). Good free wi-fi in all structure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Before going to Aalborg i read trip advisor's comments on thsi hotel and to be hoest was regrettign havingchoen the Prinsens hotel. but on arriving there i couldt find anything bad. all theother comments about how bad thsi hotel is are unfounded. both rooms i used were perfectly clean, bathroom was good hto water in shower nd heatin worked. the staff was also friendly and the breakfast was very abundant. free internet in the lobby and a very coo vintage lift (which works well, dont eb afraid)

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Prinsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Prinsen Hotel

Address: Prinsensgade 14-16, Aalborg 9000, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Aalborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Aalborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Prinsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you stay at the BEST WESTERN Prinsen Hotel you cannot get any closer to the center of Aalborg. The hotel is situated just opposite the railway station and the bus terminal as well as within walking distance from the Aalborg Kongres & Kultur Center, Aalborg’s shopping center and the famous Jomfru Ane Gade. In spite of this, the hotel is a breathing hole in the pulsating city with lots of charm, cozy atmosphere and friendly smiles. The BEST WESTERN Prinsen Hotel has 25 rooms, all of which have a private bath, cable television and free wireless Internet. What is more, our hotel has ten parking spaces in the yard. Complimentary continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Prinsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Prinsen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.