We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not Stonehenge!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lindholm Hoje

Lindholm Hoje
Vendilavej 11, Aalborg 9400, Denmark
9931 7440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 74 things to do in Aalborg
Attraction details
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This is not Stonehenge!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

But remnants of Viking age settlement. Nothing much to see really exept for foundation stones for Viking houses. The main attraction for me is that I was born in the immediate neighbourhood. After the Viking age. Now sheep are grazing oeacefully in the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not too much to see history-wise,but the view of the limfjord in the evening is nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

make sure to arrive when the museum is open ,otherwise there isnt much to see
sunset over limfjord is a nice view

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A must see if you're in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

If you are visiting Aalborg, or North Jutland, this is definitely worth a visit.
I've visited it several times and the first time was when the kids were small (15-20 years ago) - we had visited the Jorvick Centre in York earlier in the year & this was a way of rounding the circle (so to speak)
Obviously it's an outdoor attraction on a hill, so wrap up warm (even in the summer it can be chilly)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must for visitors to Aalborg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Being one of Denmarks oldest cities, dating back the the 9th century, Aalborg has an even older attraction: The Lindholm Høje Viking Graves. From the eight century, it is a remarkable and powerful legacy of the vikings and the early formation of the kingdom of Denmark. The attraction had a modern museum attached to it, which also is great and a must see, but the most fantastic is definitely the outside graves and the wonderful views towards the Limfjord, that runs through the city of Aalborg.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lindholm Hoje”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

On a business trip to Aarlborg and had a few hours spare.

A short 20min bus ride (2C) from outside Burger King took me to Lindholm Hoje for the price of a 20 krona return fare. Spotting the small wooden stile and brown sign pointing the way, a short walk through a small wood led me to a hilly area covered in stones marking lots of viking burial sites.
What a totally extraordinary and amazing sight!

Plenty of signs in English to explain what you are seeing around the site and the I spotted a small path on the far side which led me straight to the museum. 50K entry fee but absolutely masses to see and read about (English printed guidebook loaned so you can follow the section of the museum without english translations).

An amble back to the bus-stop (and a cold wait as I'd just missed a bus! - currently twice an hour 27 and 57...) and I arrived safely back into Aarlborg with time to spare for a trip to Penny Lane for a well deserved and delicious lunch.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindholm Hoje also viewed

 

Been to Lindholm Hoje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindholm Hoje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.