We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet style, all you can eat and sushi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Thai Garden

Restaurant Thai Garden
Jernbanegade 2, Aalborg 9000, Denmark
9813 4999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 135 Restaurants in Aalborg
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet
Gloucestershire, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Buffet style, all you can eat and sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A small restaurant that got quite cramped for space. The food available was good and daughter enjoyed the novelty of mixing her own dishes to be cooked in front of her. However, this novelty did wear off quite quickly as you found yourself stood waiting more than sat enjoying the company of your friends.
My friends, who live in Aalborg and often frequent this restaurant said that service can vary significantly, depending on the experience of the chef. We obviously visited on the speedy chef's day off!
The restaurant is worth a look. Other Sushi Restaurants appeared quite expensive, however, as this was all you could eat and there was a variety of foods available it's probably value for money in comparison.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It's good...give it a try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This Thai restaurant has an a la carte menu, set menus, and also a buffet option. I went for the buffet option which is better than your average Chinese/Thai buffet. It has a salad bar, sushi bar, hot food, but what really impressed me was the live cooking. Here, you get a plate and help yourself to raw ingredients, such as vegetables, noodles, different meats, sauces. Bring your plate to the cook, and he/she will cook it for you on a hot plate. This makes a difference as the food is fresh and much tastier. I went quite early in the evening so it wasn't too busy. I suspect the live cooking will take longer when their are more people - but that's ok, plenty of other things to eat while you wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Asian buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is where to go for all-you-can eat buffet. They have fresh sushi, chinese dishes and mongolian BBQ.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value and no surprises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have been here many times with my wife and also with my children and we always have the buffet, where you can combine the vegetable and meat/fish you want and then you watch while it's being cooked in the sauce of you own choice. The selection and quality is more or less the same every time and the price keeps reasonable so it's a great value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and quick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is not the place that you would go for a romantic dinner as it is very noisy and quite crowded due to its popularity. However, if you are looking for a budget restaurant which caters to everybody in the family from picky children to vegetarian mums and meat-loving dads, this is the place. The service is fast and friendly. Food varies from sushi over Chinese dishes to a Mongolian barbeque. I have no idea why they call it THAI garden as it is not exclusively Thai food. The all you can eat buffet is a bargain at 119 DKK (135 DKK on Fridays and Saturdays). The staff is polite and helpful, and the place usually clean enough.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Thai Garden also viewed

Aalborg, North Jutland
Aalborg, North Jutland
 

Been to Restaurant Thai Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Thai Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.