We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Danhostel Svendborg

Danhostel Svendborg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Danhostel Svendborg to your Saves list
Danhostel Svendborg
VesterGade 45, Svendborg 5700, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I agree with another reviewer- this hostel is more like a hotel. We stayed here at end of August 2013 for one night. The check-in time was between 2-5 pm but we arrived late. We called in advance to figure out how should we check in and the staff was very friendly in the phone to give me the instruction, so no problems at all when we arrived. It took 10-15 minutes walk from the train station and it's ok because the town itself is nice too. The room we stayed was spotless- my allergy knows that so i didn't have any sneezing. The facility in the hostel is very nice; we used the kitchen to cook dinner and were very impressive about the cleanness of the common area too. The bathroom is very clean and modern look; it also had enough rooms to let us hang our clothes, towels etc. The beds were comfortable and we had very good sleep. And OMG in the morning, the breakfast was so amazing. Everything is fresh and delicious, especially the cheese and hams. I and my friend really enjoyed staying at this place and definitely would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cluses, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The best International hostel ever slept in .
Top quality overall , too bad all is written in Danish but the friendly receptionist speaks english.
Make sure you reserve your rooæ on the back side because very noisy if you need your window opened at night.

Room Tip: reserving a room on the garden side is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I recently held a retreat for 140 teenagers at Danhostel Svendborg. While this could be daunting for any hotel, this hostel handled it with ease. From serving two seatings at every meal to allowing us the run of the place. The staff were always helpful, friendly, and patient.

While most of you won't be visiting Svendborg with 140 teenagers, I would highly recommend this hostel. The room I had was clean, modern, and a step up from other hostels I have stayed in. Every room has its own bathroom with a shower, and there are additional community toilets and showers if you should need them. There is a game room to keep kids and parents alike happy.

The one downside for my purpose was a lack of green space. There is a small garden with some football nets and a trampoline during the summer months, (one at a time please) but if you have a large group and need some outdoor space you might want to think again. The location is great, just a couple of minutes walk to the downtown area and train station.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the far end of the building facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Level Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at Danhostel for 1 night in a double room & were very very impressed. We arrived with no reservation but the reception girl was so nice & helpful & gave us a double room. The hostel is big with lots of amenities & services. They have a free secured & sheltered bike parking, they also have a very well equipped large kitchen with all the necessary appliances.
The room itself is perfect and clean, it was large with 2 single beds with duvets & pillows and a big closet. The bathroom was also large & very clean. There is also a free wifi that worked very well from anywhere in the hostel.
All in all, this hostel is perfect in every way starting from the price, the facilities & the rooms and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Svendborg.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svendborg
1.4 mi away
Hotel Christiansminde
Hotel Christiansminde
#2 of 8 in Svendborg
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stella Maris - Hotel de Luxe
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aero
Hotel Aero
#5 of 8 in Svendborg
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Troense
Hotel Troense
#4 of 8 in Svendborg
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hotel Hesselet
Hotel Hesselet
#1 of 4 in Nyborg
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danhostel Svendborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danhostel Svendborg

Address: VesterGade 45, Svendborg 5700, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Svendborg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Svendborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Danhostel Svendborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danhostel Svendborg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.