We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Christiansminde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Christiansminde to your Saves list
Hotel Christiansminde
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Christiansmindevej 16, Svendborg 5700, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Svendborg
uk
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed with work, arriving in the afternoon of the previous day for a meeting the following day. Pleased it wasn't raining, you might get wet walking between the rooms.
It looks like this hotel aims at the conference market. Room was nice, with a small kitchenette, and a lounge area. Lovely views over the lake.

Would have no hesitation to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
21
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is directly on the coast with fantastic views from the restaurant, some of the rooms, and some of the conference rooms. The food is so so, and the basement bar is a self-service bar based on a honors system. I found the staff very helpful and service minded with technical issues and the AV equipment is up to date.

If you are there during the season, do not forget to take a trip with the steamship Helge which stops at the pier just outside the hotel. Helge will take you as far as Valdemar Castle on Tåsinge.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Large hotel, very busy with family events during weekends (and probably conferences during weekdays). Attractive location in green surroundings at the strait of Svendborgsund, 15-20 min walk along the coast to downtown cosy Svendborg, same distance to the romantic island of Thurø in the opposite direction.

Large rooms, comfortable and well equipped. First we got a room facing the kitchen, with yellow stains on the toilet seat. After complaining we got a nice room with sea view and terrace. Breakfast OK quality, good choice. Expect very crowded breakfast restaurant at weekends due to loud family parties.

Friendly and helpful staff at front desk. The place is value for money if you can get a discounted rate.

Room Tip: Go for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a nice room with patio and grassy area in front. The room was clean and comfortable, a bit expensive but so is everything in Denmark. My only complaint would be breakfast there is a reasonable choice but it's poorly laid out and not well organised which means when the hotel is busy breakfast is not much fun!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here before some years ago, but I had forgotten how poor this place is. OK, I should have left a review with Trip Advisor at that time to refer back to.

This time we visited this “hotel” (it is more like a 3 star motel) for a week at short notice. The view from the restaurant and some of the rooms is superb. And that is about as good as our stay gets.

We stayed in Room 1, which is very close to reception and has a lovely view of the water and a terrace. At check in, we were told by a charming receptionist that our room has private parking outside. Unfortunately, no-one else realises this and we were unable to park in our space for most of our stay.

On Saturday, some private functions took place and we couldn't find a space for our car anywhere. We asked reception for help, but were told there was nothing they could do because they don't write numbers on the spaces, so people just park anywhere. Well, actually, they could do something ... arrange to have the spaces numbered! Meanwhile, ask the driver of the car parked in our space to move it. No chance! So, we had to park a long way from our room and then carry our shopping through the snow to our accommodation. Not good!

And those private functions went on until 2 am. The noise from the live band (so it couldn't be turned down) was totally disturbing in our room, so we lost a good part of a night's sleep in the process.

The staff at reception are friendly and helpful as far as they are able, which isn't that far. For example, the "free" wifi allows internet access, but no emails can be sent/received, because, according to reception, their wifi isn't capable. Especially with Apple products, apparently. Guests expectations are set when booking a room here that wifi throughout means internet and email access, so this isn't good news, especially if you are staying more than one night and need to work. Goodness knows what my phone bill will be ... downloading everything via 3G :-(

Breakfast was very poor. It is laid out at 7 am and some of the food (meat, cheese, eggs, yoghurts, smoothies) just isn't very palatable later on. Breakfast ends at 10 am each day, including weekends. I would prefer a "no breakfast" option, but this isn't possible. The scrambled eggs were the worst I have ever tasted (once was enough) and I think most people agreed as a large pile of these were left each day. What a dreadful waste. Nothing is prepared fresh, guests just help themselves to whatever is laid out as well as coffee/tea from a machine. Service is almost non-existent, but you may occasionally catch someone appearing from the kitchen when you need a clean plate. If you are lucky.

The rooms - well, we had an "apartment" - are tired. Storage is really poor and could be greatly improved. In our room, the front door opened onto a small twin bedded area (open plan) with no storage for clothes. The twin beds have a gap between them, so no chance of cuddling up together with your loved one. There is a tiny, separate double bunk room with a small wardrobe to the side, so we put our clothes in there. The "kitchen" is two electric rings, a fridge, a sink, and a microwave, with some crockery and poorly maintained pots, pans, and utensils. So cooking potential is very, very, very limited. There are no scissors (I needed some :-) and the knives are blunt as blunt could be. There is a small shower room, complete with mould and a damp smell, and a good sized lounge diner with a small flat screen TV and a door to the patio.

Room servicing is very limited. I had to call to ask for some shampoo and shower gel on day two. I was told that each apartment only gets one tiny tube of these every two or three days. What?? Why?? Are we only expected to shower and wash our hair every two or three days ... or, if there are two guests, every four to six days? This is ridiculous.

Two bottles of wine and three bags of crisps are left on a tray in the room, which are chargeable. Fair enough. We ate the crisps one night, but they were never replenished. Hmm, perhaps guests are only allowed to have crisps once a week ... maybe on the same day that they are allowed to wash their hair and shower?

The beds are made each day (but the top cover is sometimes left on the floor under the beds) and bedding appears to be refreshed once a week. I don't think any cleaning is done judging from the dust and dirt on the floor. Towels are replaced if you leave them on the floor. There is a notice to tell guests that they must wash up their dishes, as this isn't included in room servicing. Fine, but how about giving us a cloth and some washing liquid to do this with? No chance. I mean, if you can't even get shampoo and shower gel each day, how can you expect to get washing up liquid?

You too can have all this for the 5 star sum of DK 1775 (about £207) per night. For 3 star accommodation and service. All in all, a very, very disappointing stay. One that won’t be repeated. Ever again.

Room Tip: As far from reception as possible, that way you may get a good night's sleep and a parking space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurup Thy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The rooms in the hotel have been rebuild since, I last visited Hotel Christiansminde. This is OK, but doesn't give basis for a 30% price increase since 2011. I find the hotel is overpriced, the service is slappy with at least 3 errors in reservation and payment. The breakfast was not very good, warm yogurt, cold scrambled eggs etc. The surroundings at the waterfront are magnificent, and worth visiting though.

Room Tip: Take the room at the waterfront. No stairs, parking right at the room. Magnificent view in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Prime location, overlooking the waterfront and Svendborg Sund. Christiansminde is a very charming hotel with lots of excellent meeting facilities and great food. We were there on a one day creative conference and workshops - and the hotel& surroundings were really inspiring. Very friendly staff was attentative and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Christiansminde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiansminde

Address: Christiansmindevej 16, Svendborg 5700, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Svendborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Svendborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Christiansminde 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Christiansminde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Christiansminde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.