We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centrumpladsen 1, Svendborg 5700, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Svendborg
Certificate of Excellence
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It is a good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are kept clean and look fresh and well appointed. The breakfast is extensive with lots of food. I do not know about the prices since I was on business and the company paid.

So, is anything wrong?

Twice they did not clean my room or service it in any way. Admittedly there was some excuse on one occasion since apart from going to breakfast I spent the whole morning in bed because I was extremely tired. Even so I am surprised they do not clean in the early afternoon. On the other occasion I was out of the room by 8.30 for breakfast and they had no excuse whatever.

Breakfast ends at 10 o'clock and I believe all hotels should have breakfast until 11 o'clock.

As others have commented it is noisy with a front room because of people drinking until the early morning.

They have a lift with a glass side and if you are scared of heights (a medical condition) as two in my party were the lift is not very nice! However there is another lift inside.

However it is a nice hotel and I recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is the hotel I go to when doing business in Svedborg. Quality of service and of the rooms has alsways been very good over the years. Morning buffet is extensive and one can find all the food the need to have a good start of the day. Now that I know, I always ask for a room on the parking lot (back of the hotel) and not in front (main square). People tend to stay late outside and noises might bother you when trying to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Wonderful small town, hotel is central in town, clean, great food including the varied and nice breakfast buffet, attentive and friendly staff, attention to small details. Very good facilities for small conferences. Beds and bathroom good. Just the coffee was not so good and the coffee jugs in the conference area did not keep it warm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reynir Tomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, Teamleader at BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Reynir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property and I hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Maria T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed there on 7 May 2014, one night. Staff not that friendly. Parking in back of hotel free but not enough parking spots for size of the hotel. Room had no A/C and room was very hot; so opened window to get cool air, but had road noise and noise from rowdy visitors during the night. A bright spot was the breakfast buffet - fresh fruit, good Danish meats and cheese.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side to avoid road noise
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, Team Leader at BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Ron,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We have our own parking lot with up to 85 cars in total. However, enough parking spaces are a known issue when we are full booked and there fore we try to offer our guests other possibilities with nearby parking free of charge. Our rooms do not have A/C in stead we offer our guests a fan during their stay. I hope you will consider visit us another time, so we can provide you with the service you expect.

Best Regards,
Maria T.
Front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
176 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

It's difficult commenting on Best Western - this global brand has been around for so long there's nothing really to add, and they know exactly what they're doing too; efficient friendly reception, nice downstairs area, clean comfortable bed-room, ditto bathroom, able to open windows (hurray!), decent price, decent breakfast...if all hotels were like this, TA wouldn't need to exist.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jobetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, Team Leader at BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience. At Best Western we strive to do a superior service every time. I am glad that my team where able to exceed your expectations during your stay at our property. I hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards
Maria T.
Front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Brieuc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed many times in this hotel and it is good hotel. The room are clean and quite, the good is food and people are friendly. It's located in the city center.
Down side : the restaurant close at 9pm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derwella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulton Broad, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business and was pleasantly surprised, as I thought the reasonable rates would be an indicator of the standard, but the hotel is very nice, rooms very comfortable and a good nights sleep was had.
Breakfast was also good with a fair choice.
Personnel were very helpful when asked questions about the local area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Spongeandcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svendborg
1.6 mi away
Stella Maris - Hotel de Luxe
1.2 mi away
Hotel Christiansminde
Hotel Christiansminde
#3 of 8 in Svendborg
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Troense
Hotel Troense
#5 of 8 in Svendborg
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aero
Hotel Aero
#6 of 8 in Svendborg
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hotel Hesselet
Hotel Hesselet
#1 of 5 in Nyborg
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg

Address: Centrumpladsen 1, Svendborg 5700, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Svendborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Svendborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg is located in the city center and just five minutes walk from the train station in Svendborg and Svendborg Harbour. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg offers free Wi-Fi and parking and all guest rooms have 32-inch or 42-inch flat screen televisions. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg's Restaurant Krinsen serves classic Danish and French cuisine. Among the specialties are locally caught fish and lamb. The hotel is known for the large delicious breakfast buffet and offers lunch and an a la carte restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing