We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel - overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centrumpladsen 1, Svendborg 5700, Denmark   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20-30%
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Svendborg
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel - overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is the hotel I go to when doing business in Svedborg. Quality of service and of the rooms has alsways been very good over the years. Morning buffet is extensive and one can find all the food the need to have a good start of the day. Now that I know, I always ask for a room on the parking lot (back of the hotel) and not in front (main square). People tend to stay late outside and noises might bother you when trying to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    38
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
25
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Wonderful small town, hotel is central in town, clean, great food including the varied and nice breakfast buffet, attentive and friendly staff, attention to small details. Very good facilities for small conferences. Beds and bathroom good. Just the coffee was not so good and the coffee jugs in the conference area did not keep it warm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, Teamleader at BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Reynir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property and I hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Maria T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed there on 7 May 2014, one night. Staff not that friendly. Parking in back of hotel free but not enough parking spots for size of the hotel. Room had no A/C and room was very hot; so opened window to get cool air, but had road noise and noise from rowdy visitors during the night. A bright spot was the breakfast buffet - fresh fruit, good Danish meats and cheese.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side to avoid road noise
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, Team Leader at BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Ron,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We have our own parking lot with up to 85 cars in total. However, enough parking spaces are a known issue when we are full booked and there fore we try to offer our guests other possibilities with nearby parking free of charge. Our rooms do not have A/C in stead we offer our guests a fan during their stay. I hope you will consider visit us another time, so we can provide you with the service you expect.

Best Regards,
Maria T.
Front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

It's difficult commenting on Best Western - this global brand has been around for so long there's nothing really to add, and they know exactly what they're doing too; efficient friendly reception, nice downstairs area, clean comfortable bed-room, ditto bathroom, able to open windows (hurray!), decent price, decent breakfast...if all hotels were like this, TA wouldn't need to exist.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, Team Leader at BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience. At Best Western we strive to do a superior service every time. I am glad that my team where able to exceed your expectations during your stay at our property. I hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards
Maria T.
Front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Brieuc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed many times in this hotel and it is good hotel. The room are clean and quite, the good is food and people are friendly. It's located in the city center.
Down side : the restaurant close at 9pm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulton Broad, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business and was pleasantly surprised, as I thought the reasonable rates would be an indicator of the standard, but the hotel is very nice, rooms very comfortable and a good nights sleep was had.
Breakfast was also good with a fair choice.
Personnel were very helpful when asked questions about the local area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We (my wife and I) arrived to the city of Svendborg by car from our previous stop in Odense (approx 45 km away), during our summer holiday. Warm, nice, sunny weather 

As we arrived early, around 11:00 hrs (Aug 7th 2013), we had to wait until the afternoon before we could get our room (as we had expected). However, we were welcome to park our Volvo at the hotel’s parking (at the backyard of the hotel) and we - at the same time - rented two bicycles from the hotel (they had a large number of nice bikes to choose between).

Ahead of our arrival, we had checked the time-table for the ferry from Svendborg out to the island of Ærø. Before the departure of the ferry, we had the time to buy some nice sandwiches, fruit and water at a local bakery in the city centre, which we brought with us onboard (actually, they do sell stuff like that onboard as well). We even brought the bikes onboard. The trip (by the ferry) out to the island was very nice and beautiful, through the great archipelago…partly surrounded by islands, sail- & motorboats and nice houses.

The ferry arrived after 75 minutes to Ærøskøbing (the main city) at Ærø, and we biked for more than 10 kilometers along the seaside, in eastern direction to the city of Marstal. It was a fabulous trip; through a nature so beautiful and tranquil: The calm, blue sea at the left side of the bicycle, and the green, fertile fields at the right side.
Later, we biked another route (in the inland – which turned out to be very hilly) back to the ferry, and then went back onboard it to the mainland.
It was a magnificent excursion, which we absolutely will recommend (especially if the weather is fine).

Back at the hotel, we checked in and got our room at the top 5th with a great view towards the square in front of the hotel. However, as there were no remote control to the TV, we phoned the reception staff and asked if they could help us to get a new/another one. A young male employee showed up and tried to find it; he even crawled under the bed…without any success.

Therefore, we were offered a new room, which we accepted: #425 at the floor below – with a (dull) view towards the backside of the premises (the parking area). There was a kitchenette in the room and the bathroom was up-to date and fine. The beds were good, and we slept very well.

The breakfast the next morning was adequate and well tasting; however – due to the holiday season – the breakfast room was very crowded. Regrettably, due to the heavy “traffic”, the staff didn’t really have the proper time to fill up empty items at the buffet; nor did they have time to clean empty tables. We felt a bit sorry for them – stressed as they were.
After breakfast we walked for a nice trip in the city centre, through the pedestrian areas.

We experienced the hotel’s reception staff to be very nice and polite. They offered us a new room without any hesitation; and they even let us have the bicycles rent for free due to the inconvenience with the change of room.

Despite all the (small) problems a hotel may have during high season (due to the accumulation of families and “regular people” who maybe not are used to hotel stays), it shows how important it is with a hotels flexibility and the establishment’s service attitude.

BW Hotel Svendborg’s staff demonstrated very well that they are professional.
If / when we come back to this area in Denmark, we will be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg

Address: Centrumpladsen 1, Svendborg 5700, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Svendborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Svendborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg is located in the city center and just five minutes walk from the train station in Svendborg and Svendborg Harbour. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg offers free Wi-Fi and parking and all guest rooms have 32-inch or 42-inch flat screen televisions. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg's Restaurant Krinsen serves classic Danish and French cuisine. Among the specialties are locally caught fish and lamb. The hotel is known for the large delicious breakfast buffet and offers lunch and an a la carte restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Svendborg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.