We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel That Needs Updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aero

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aero
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BroGade 1, Svendborg 5700, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Svendborg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average Hotel That Needs Updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've stayed twice at the Hotel Aero. Both of my stays have been fine, if underwhelming.

First off, the staff is very kind and accommodating. They go the extra mile for their patrons and are definitely personally invested in the hotel. Kudos for that.

The rooms, though, are not much to write home about. The ones on the lobby side of the street are older, but oftentimes more spacious than the annex ones. Downside to the lobby side is that most of the rooms' open up to an outdoor walkway, so you can't really leave your window all the way open at night because passersby could just hop right it. Also, you run the risk of getting the odor of cigarettes wafting from the patio below.

The annex is awful. They tout the rooms as "newer," but they were clearly put together sometime in the 70s. The bathrooms are something out of a cruise ship, with no delineation on the floor between shower and the rest of the bathroom, so water gets everywhere.

Moreover, I'm pretty sure they have mold or something along those lines. I suffered from the worst asthma streak since my childhood while I was in an annex room for a week.

There's free wifi, though, even if the signal kinda sucks. Their authentication method requires a browser validation every single time you hop back on it - as in, if you sign on and do some work on a laptop, then shut the laptop for an hour to go get some food or whatever, then come back, you must go through the whole ordeal again. It's pretty inefficient. They'd be better off just encrypting the signal and giving patrons the network password. Much, much easier. And did I mention the signal is something out of the 802.11b era?

So it comes with trade offs. Svendborg isn't exactly a hotbed for great hotels, and Hotel Aero's great staff and good location help make up for its outdatedness and other shortcomings. I'm mostly fine with the place, but I think the next time I'm in town, I'm going to have to try a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, very helpful. Very clean, nice Danish hotel. Nice town and seaport - the hotel fits in perfectly. Staff is very friendly and wants to display the Danish culture in it's best light. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orry-la-Ville, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

i have been several times to this hotel : the restaurant is quite reasonnable, the personel is very nice and available, BUT, the rooms at the other side of the street are not convenient : firstly when we arrived was a lot of snow, so we had to cross the street with 20 cm snow and our luggage, then at the first floor we got our room, with view on the street -not so noisy but still some cars and trucks very early in the morning- then late in the evening when people arrived from the bar , the noise of the locks in the doors will surely make you awake! so if you go to this hotel, ask absolutly for a room in the new area, side to the inside of the hotel and not in the annex.

Room Tip: Not in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Situated close to the harbor in the picturesque town of Svendborg, the hotel has an unassuming face to the main road..inside it is filled with old world charm. The tastefully decorated room was in a modern annex. It was comfortably furnished and included tea/coffee making facilities and free Wifi access to the Internet.

The restaurant offered a good choice of excellently prepared meals. The fish of the day was very tasty. Breakfast was quite basic in comparison to other European hotels.

Parking seems a bit tricky.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here again during the summer for a whole week and were very happy. Had a large room next to the elevator, very comfortable and enjoyed the food in the restaurant as well as the whole atmosphere, the friendliness of the staff and the location. We usually stay at 5 star hotels and true not all rooms are as perfect as our last one, but all the rooms in the annex are nice. We will happily come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annex, or across the street in a separate building where you will find complet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed while working in Svendborg. Very homely and welcoming, staff were great, could not praise more highly.
Had tried other hotels in area but found this to be the best. Lounge has real fire which adds to ambiance.

Room Tip: Stayed in many different type of rooms during my stay, the older building has carpets in rooms, newe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagelse, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Room without wardrobe, just two closes hangers, small tv and no other facilities. First floor and no elevator, despite request to change the room because of walking handicap.
Extremely slow service in the restaurant the first day, about 1 hour to get a fried fish, that was more burned than fried. Breakfast was quite sparse.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aero

Address: BroGade 1, Svendborg 5700, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Svendborg Municipality > Svendborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Svendborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aero 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Aero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.