We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It! Great Atmosphere and No Tourists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria La Pupa

Pizzeria La Pupa
Mollergade 78, Svendborg 5700, Denmark
62202170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 43 Restaurants in Svendborg
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love It! Great Atmosphere and No Tourists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I, myself, am a tourist and business traveler, but I just love that this place is chuck full of locals without a tourist in sight. Staff is friendly. There are English-language menus (not exactly a novelty in Denmark, but still), and the pizza is great! You could easily get one pizza per person, but we found that splitting one pizza more than filled two of us.

Did I mention the pizza is really good? It's also creative. No run-of-the-mill flavors here. I'll definitely go back the next time I'm in Svendborg.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good service, good food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went here after reading Trip Advisor reviews. The place wasn't very busy (only one other table occupied) but it was a Monday. Service was very good and the waitress was delightful. We each had pasta (very tasty, but the portion defeated me :-) and shared a wonderful bottle of Amerone (our favourite)! We rounded off our meal with two liqueur coffees which warmed us for the sub-zero temperatures outside. Well, that was our excuse. A most enjoyable evening, really good value at about DK 900, we will definitely return. Thank you, La Pupa!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunsan, South Korea
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best pizza for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I went to this restaurant with my colleagues upon hearing good reviews from the tripadvisor, and it did not disappoint! In fact I had one of the best pizza I had the pleasure of tasting!! I have ordered Pizza Porco, wanting something spicy with parma ham. It wasn't spicy to my standard, however the taste was just excellent. My colleagues ordered Beef Lasagne and they weren't disappointed either. Highly recommended if you're around Svendborg, and you love Italian food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Simply lip smacking good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were walking around Svendborg, looking for place to dine. We saw a sticker outside the restaurant "Recommended by Trip Advisor" so we walked in, and it's the best decision we ever made!

If at all you are around this place, go and try, you'll surely love it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varde
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Italian restaurant in Denmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you ever go to Svendborg, you have to visit Melina & Gianni at La Pupa, which by the way means "The little mermaid". Gianni has been elected the best pizza maker 3 or 4 times in Sicily, so the pizzas are splendid. If you are going for some italian cuisine, just take Gianni´s menu - and let him find the wines to the menu, you will be surpriced! It´s never the same, but what the chef wants to make this evening. Everytime there the little twist so you think - brilliant!
Melina & Gianni is a very charming and authentic couple:-)

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria La Pupa also viewed

Svendborg, Funen and Islands
 
Svendborg, Funen and Islands
Svendborg, Funen and Islands
 

Been to Pizzeria La Pupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria La Pupa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.