We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay clear!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Torito

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Torito
Vestergade 21, Odense 5000, Denmark
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 164 Restaurants in Odense
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Fredrikstad, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stay clear!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The place to go for horrible food and even worse service. Recommended if you need to benchmark bottom level if your scale. Choose anything else but this joint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    7
    7
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“An ok diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The food was fine nothing special but perfectly adequate. I had chilli it was nicely prepaied and fine to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Normally I wouldn't use these kind of words for any restaurants - but El Torito sat the sub-standard out of this world. You shouldn't think it was to complex doing Tex-Mex these days - but this was absolutely hopeless. Clearly everything was powder, canned and pre-fabricated ingredients. No taste at all, and not even that cheap. This is a joke.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Pretty good Mexican food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My fiancée and I went here on our first night in Odense - the restaurant is located in the town centre. The food was good, well presented and tasty. I had fajitas - could have done with 1 or 2 more tortillas. My fiancée had chilli, which was delicious. Overall, good, tasty food, reasonably authentic, and well priced.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We were fresh in town with my daughter who has been living in Italy for past year and when she saw El Torrito we had to eat there. This is deffinately not the same as the U. S. El Torrito chain restaurant. The only thing fresh here was the air outside. Everything was right out of a can. We are from California and eat Mexican food all the time. It was one of the worst restaurant exspierences I've ever had.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Torito also viewed

Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 
Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 

Been to El Torito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Torito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.