We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Den Gamle Kro

Den Gamle Kro
Overgade 23, Odense 5000, Denmark
+45 66 12 14 33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 151 Restaurants in Odense
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: French, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Old Inn (Den Gamle Kro) serves nice food in a very cosy dinning room. The prices are fair and the staff is friendly and service minded. Really nice place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    39
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Excellent lunch plate with delicious herring, salmon, plaice and pork filet with creamy mushrooms. Nothing to complain, nice cosy atmosphere in very old house.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An oasis of cultured gastronomy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The setting and ambience, both outside visually and inside were top-notch – good décor, comfortable, not noisy, but enjoyable and you did not feel alone. Seating was easy with tables that can extend and allow for larger parties than the three of us there that night. The food was excellent, good natural flavours, delicate reductions and the meat cooked to perfection. The wine list – oh the wine list – this list was and has to be the most impressive I have seen in many years- whoever ruins this place has a taste and a good one – wines from far and wide globally, and most far beyond my budget, but good to see them on a menu! I stuck with the local beer, it was great.

http://www.dengamlekro.eu/35-presentation.html

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Odense to see if things had changed in the last 50 years since my wife lived here when she was 6-10. Her sad was overseeing building tankers for Chevron. DGK was great back then and still is. We had the best meal of all of our time in Denmark. Service was great. Prices were deffinately more than we usually spend but was actually reasonable for Denmark. The next time we go to Denmark we'll eat here. Hopefully sooner than. 50 years.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Really great food and service.
Try the traditional Danish meal, with herring of all styles, plus fish, plus steak, plus cheese, then you will not need to eat for a week. The quality is excellent and the inn restaurant is very very nice inside. Try the meal with Danish beer and , or snaps.

It is also situated near to the old town, a great place to walk and browse around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Den Gamle Kro also viewed

Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 
Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 

Been to Den Gamle Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Den Gamle Kro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.