We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in historical sorroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Grand to your Saves list
First Hotel Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   JernbaneGade 18, Odense 5000, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Odense
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice stay in historical sorroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

As a guest to the Municipality og Odense in a network meeting, me and my collegues had a nice stay in this hotel. We will mention the nice and tasteful breakfast as a highlight. Likewise a friendly reception. A littke wornout interior and small hotelrooms, but altogether a nice experience.

Room Tip: order a suite og large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    77
    55
    23
    17
See reviews for
25
69
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have stayed in the First Hotel Grand on a business trip in Odense. The hotel is situated close to the pedestrian area and has a really nice surrounding in walking distance.
The rooms are cozy and renovated. The floor is dark and wooden and the style is black and white with nice accessoires. The bathroom however was not renovated and had broken tiles and a quite ugly toilet with those grey stains, which are there after years and years and years of usage.

I had room 5xx, which means you take the elevator to the first floor, walk for about 2 miles :-) than take the stairs and walk again a long floor. So if you are in a situation where you have troubles doing long walks (injuries, small kids etc), tell the staff upon reservation, so you get a room close by. I didn't want to imagine a fire breaking out there ... :-/

They are still busy doing renovations, that was why the kitchen only offered a very small choice during the lunch. Internet is free of charge, the meeting rooms are nice, but no aircon.

It will be interesting to moitor how the hotel will develop with further renovations and updates.
The

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I loved the feel of this hotel from the minute we walked in. It just had a very traditional stately feel. The reception staff were friendly, and processed our check in within 5 minutes. Access to our 1st floor room was easy and quick using the lift- although our kids loved the big regal stairs.
The room itself was very clean, tastefully decorated and big enough for 2 adults and 2 children with 2 additional fold out beds having been added in the room.
The location was perfect for our short stay in Odense. We walked easily from the rail station and found it was within walking distance to all the things we wanted to see during the visit. The only downside of this super location is the noise that accompanied due to the traffic on the main road below. However, this didn't affect us as much as we thought it might. We slept wonderfully on the very comfortable beds!
The breakfast buffet was the best we had in Denmark!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

First impressions are certainly very grand when you enter the reception area but unfortunately the hotel did not live up to expectations. Our room was in an annexe connected by a walkway over the road and then up two flights of "fire exit stairs" as the lift up to our room was "out of order" and had been for some time. The doors to the rooms open outwards into the corridors and we almost got hit by someone exiting there room. When eventually arriving at our room it was tiny but clean, but the bathroom was awful........old, tired and dirty and when we emptied the basin water came back up out of a grill in the floor and flooded the bathroom!! When we entered the dining room for breakfast every table seemed to be covered in dirty dishes but this was because there was only one member of staff available trying to deal with people's queries and clear the tables. Even the buffet breakfast had not been replenished, no bread rolls and almost all the fruit options had gone. When we checked out we mentioned our bathroom flooding problems to the lady on reception and she spoke to her colleague in danish and that was it, not apologies or explanations!! Apologies if this sounds like a rant but the hotel really does deserve such a review. On our recent trip we visited Holland, Germany and Denmark and all our other hotels were really good!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel, smack in the center of town, within walking distance of everything, including a pedestrian mall chock full of restaurants, is really grand in every way -- except for: lack of air-conditioning (endemic to Denmark, where they seem to ignore global, and Denmark, warming); windows with no screens -- as usual in Europe; managing three sets of stairs, up and down, on the same floor, in a building with an elevator; and an overpriced, noisy and crowded buffet breakfast -- when there are cafes a block away offering better food at half the price. Even so, we could not have done better for the price. On-Street Parking Alert: automated sidewalk parking machines accept only cards from a few Danish banks, so it's cash only -- and the "English" instructions are pathetic: even Danish passersby laughed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same level as the elevator on any floor -- or be prepared to lug your suitcase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

+:
Excellent breakfast
Good location
Decent sized rooms

-:
No aircondition (!!) and only one small window to open. Did not sleep well when 20 C+ outside.
Newly fixed up, but cruedly. Not very nice bathroom
Poor cleanliness. Dirty shower, running toilet, visible plumbing which collected dust. Ventilator in bathroom filled with dust.
Few television channels
No luggage rack
Few parking spaces and costs 95DKK ($16) per day

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is the one you should choose in Odense. Convenient to the central train station (only a few hundred yards easy walk). Positioned in the city center, there are plenty of good restaurants within just 1 to 3 blocks. The atmospheric city center with half-timbered homes, St. Knut's church and the Hans Christian Anderson Home and Museum are all very close by. I have to differ from some other reviewers regarding the breakfast at First Hotel Grand. It is OUTSTANDING. So many choices,and everything was very fresh. My room was clean, quiet, had a good bed and a nice bathroom. I would suggest that the hotel invest in some portable fans for the rooms that have limited opening with the windows. But at night, the room cools just fine. Reception was friendly, prepared and efficient. I would stay here again, and would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Grand

Address: JernbaneGade 18, Odense 5000, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Odense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Odense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 4-story Hotel in central location, 5 minutes from Hans Christian Andersen Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Grand Odense
First Grand Odense
Odense First Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.