We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a charming city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hunderupgade 2, Odense 5230, Denmark   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20-30%
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Odense
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a charming city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

As a stop in the summer holidays, this hotel was a nice experience. Spacious, newly decorated, clean, friendly and professional personell added this to otherways perfect summer holidays in Denmark. But - a heatwave in Scandinavia these actual days made sleeping impossible. No Aircondition innstalled or at least a minor air facilities possible made the nights with interior temperatures up to over 30 degrees C, uncomfortable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
31
4
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Not sure if it is four star as I found that it needed a bit of TLC and smartening up in places. The exterior is really nice and gives the impression that it is better than it is. The staff were very helpful both in reception and restaurant which always helps. The restaurant is very traditional in décor and the quality of both breakfast and dinner were very good. I stayed here some years ago and in many ways little has changed. The main disadvantage is that it is out of town so if you don't have a car its a taxi if you want a change of scenery for something to eat. However I like the place and would stay again if I had the car with me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Needed a stop over on the way to Copenhagen. This is s cozy hotel with easy access to and from the main road. Easy parking. Very helpful staff. Good Wifi. The restaurant was nicely decorated in traditional Danish style. The food ,( dinner and breakfast)was excellent. We stayed in the newer part room 135. It was modern and up to date.
We did not visit Odense city as such and cannot comment on how suitable this hotel is for a visit to Odense itself.
All in all this was a nice cozy Danish hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Like so many Best Western hotels in Denmark, this one is a little tired, esp. with regards to the room quality. The one I had (no. 111) had the typical stale smell, and featured several minor issues (for instance, one whole wall had electrical outlets that did not function). The sleep quality was not great - an overly soft mattress and a creaky four poster frame. The bathroom was adequate, but again not great: cold water tap never actually got cold, the shower curtain didn't close properly. Overall, nothing major wrong with the room - but small annoying details a plenty. The hotel is simply too expensive for what one gets, and that is the bottom line.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The lovely grounds give this inn the flavor of a country retreat. The dinners we enjoyed were the best of our ten day bicycle trip. I would drive a hundred miles. (Not bike) to enjoy this jewel.
This. Place is worth a Detour.
All this charm was evidenced by the kindness of a desk clerk who went down to a dark basement room and tried about 45 keys to get me a wrench to fix my bike--god bless her!
If you upgrade to a suite you will be pleasantly surprised with the size and amenities. Basic rooms are clean and pleasant but may be considered small by American standards. We stayed two nights, one on each end of our bicycle trip, and enjoyed our stay in both room types.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talybont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Comfortable and well-equipped room. Good breakfast and the dinner in the restaurant was very good. The resception and restaurant staff were very friendly and most helpful. Good WiFi. Plenty of parking spaces available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is a motel style looking hotel but it is more upscale than it appears. I stayed on the ground floor and my room overlooked a beautiful green part with the street in the distance. There is no lobby so having someone wait for you is a case of standing around. The laundry service was very slow for some reason -- fortunately I did not need the jacket till the end of my stay. Had a very enjoyable dinner in the restaurant which is transformed from what it looks like during the day. Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard

Address: Hunderupgade 2, Odense 5230, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Odense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Odense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard is a 4-star hotel with a rare combination of peace and modern comfort - studwork and paving stones - stylan and elegance. Only 3.5 km from highway and 2 km from Odense city centre. Free parking and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odense Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.