We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense to your Saves list
Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Claus Bergs Gade 7, Odense 5000, Denmark   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Odense
Ulm, Germany
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Average hotel, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

The Radisson in Odense is very well located in the city center. Otherwise the hotel is just average. Rooms are ok and clean, but old. Parking spaces are in front of the hotel, but since this is a public parking, one needs to be lucky or early. Breakfast is ok.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    65
    72
    24
    11
See reviews for
32
56
14
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Rooms were clean and quiet. Corridors are long but it's not bad. The gym was my biggest gripe as is states "extensive weights and cardio" where there is only a chest press, a lat pull down, a shoulder press and a leg extension for weights, and a row, bike and step for cardio. The machines were in terrible condition and the weights stuck through lack of greasing on the slides. Breakfast is good considering its free, salmon, eggs, bread, meat, cheese, cereal etc. Truth be told it isn't bad but the could make it so much better!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfort, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hotel very well located close to the beautiful Andersen's area.
Hotel is comfortable and pleasant. The restaurant was good and breakfast was suitable.
Staff was very kind and helpful. We got a non smoking room but it smelled very strong Tobacco. Immediately Staff was find another room.
Public parking is behind the hotel, not easy with our luggage.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I can not stay calm when it goes about cleanliness. The whole bathroom is covered with black mold...the bathtube i was supposed to wash my kids in...
The hotel has an ineffective or out of order ventilation. The windows in our room started to cry after the night, it was extremely humid.
The rest did not mean a lot personally to me after i saw the room...still to provide the hotel a chance to improve it all (i don't believe they are really interested to do so)
The parking lot is 3 min walk. with your bags. No way can you park behind the entrance.
Quick check in with no smile. The restaurant was closed in the evening...I can understand it was the 25th of December...but it is not honest in my opinion. Almost everything around is closed (just a pizza & kebab 10 min walk from there, to go option only..) You may choose to close the hotel completely for that night or keep both the hotel and restaurant (or at least bar) open for snacks.
Long corridors are hard to cope with when you have small kids.
The room was large. Two single beds made a double bed. Baby crib offered was nicely decorated with baby motives. No minibar at all.
The breakfast was a highlight after all. Fish, good choice and variety, hot dishes. Enjoyed.
The property has a potential but seems either not interested
in improvements or not well managed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed here one night on a sales trip around Scandinavia. On this trip I've stayed in different Radisson BLU hotels in Oslo, Gothenburg, Copenhagen, Aalborg etc.
The Odense hotel was dissapointing though. It is apparently located quite central in town, and has a Casino in the basement. For the casino, it has no glamour over it. Expect middle eastern danes as guests, who come in packs.

The room was tardy and old with an annoying automatic light with a very nervous sensor. The hotel had made a nice information folder telling you to turn on the slow and cheap TV set to get any information. Apparently to save the environment, but they could fit the information in the folder they made to tell you this...

Staff were uninterested and the minibar didn't even offer a bottle of water. Put your head under the tap or put your clothes back and walk a mile down to the reception on to quench your thirst.

Two things I don't understand about this hotel:
1) Why do the manager ignore the standard he is offering? (Or is he/she incompetent? If so, why is he still employed?)
2) Why is this a Radisson BLU hotel? Why did they buy it? It doesn't fit their profile! It would be more at home in "Best Western".

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Maybe I've been travelling too much lately, but this hotel stay was not a pleasant experience. It's very close to the railway station which is good and very close to downtown restaurants, but the room was very basic. The power sockets were very hard to find making it difficult to charge my devices, but it was quiet and comfortable at least. The staff were quite inattentive, bordering on plain rude - quite unexpected and abnormal for Radisson hotels. I tried to have dinner at 6.20pm (on my own), I had to wait for 5 minutes until I was seated - then, I waited a further 15 minutes twiddling my thumbs - I don't know what the staff were doing, there were only a few diners in the restaurant at the time - I just got up and left, went downtown instead to eat. Inattentiveness is very irritating when you are dining alone! Afterwards I tried to get a drink from the bar, but the bar was unattended - the only other source of refreshment was a cash vending machine. The minibar in the room was empty too, referring the guest to the cash vending machine. All in all, not what I expect from Radisson hotels in Denmark. In the room itself,
I did have to wait 15 minutes for a taxi in the morning - again, unusual for a city centre hotel.
I guess this is how things are out in the sticks of Denmark. I would say I won't come back here, but points make prizes...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The hallways had hard floors, so you could hear people walking down the halls while in the room. Other than that oddity, the hotel was quite nice. The room was large. There were plenty of available outlets, a good sized couch and an ironing board.

The bathroom was large and clean. The bed was comfortable.

The location was great. It is just a block away from the HC Andersen house museum. It is a block off the main shopping street. But, it is near one end of the shopping strip, so most of the stores are a few blocks away. We were able to easily drive to the Svendborg ferry and Egestov Slot from here. Each was about 30 minutes away.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense

Address: Claus Bergs Gade 7, Odense 5000, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Odense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Odense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Mid-rise Hotel situated downtown, close to Hans Christian Andersen residence & Odense Concert Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.