We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid but uninteresting family fare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jensen's Bofhus

Jensen's Bofhus
Laessoegade 215, Odense 5230, Denmark
+45 66 11 20 22
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 164 Restaurants in Odense
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Solid but uninteresting family fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is part of a popular chain of restaurants that specialize in steak, potatoes and salad. Middle price range. You will not go wrong to eat in one of these, but there are more interesting places, with a more Danish menu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    20
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I like the food. Their new mashed potatoes are great. The meat is a roulette... sometimes its great but sometimes not so much. Compared to the price I think it is good

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Fyn, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Decent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you are looking for a restaurant where the entire family can be met without being ruined is Jensen's bøfhus is the right choice. They serve varied steak dishes to suit all budgets without reaching the ceiling. Quality is at the better end, the service is proffesional and polite without being intrusive. In short, a very good choice for a famlie on vacation. We often use this restaurant in everyday life when time is short. They also have a really good and quick takeaway department.It is a chain restaurant and you can find it in Cobenhagen as vell.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norge
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant in nice surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Jensens Bøfhus is a chain of restaurants with 3 locations in Odense (and many more elsewhere). This one in Læssøgade is set in a rural like area of the city, and there's a cozy river walk nearby.
The restaurant has outdoor seating in the warm part of the year. The interior decoration is set out in stone and with a fire place, giving the whole place a pleasant atmosphere.
"Bøfhus" means steak house in Danish, so you already know what kind of food to expect when you enter. And, judging from my single visit, they do serve more than decent enough steaks, made the way you want it. The steak was to my taste, but I would have appreciated the vegetables less "well done". But all in all it was a good experience, slightly above average quality - especially if you take the price into consideration.
I have no complaints about the service. The staff were both friendly and obliging - and slow enough to allow for small talk, but not so slow that we felt we were waiting unnecessary for the food.
I'd definitely have no qualms about visiting the restaurant again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Nice location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Not the best restaurant in town but if you like their concept then its not to bad.
Location is nice, a bit from town right next to a small lake/pond ( nice walking).
The steaks are okay but if you order it rare its more like medium/rare.
Salad buffet could be better.
Expensive beverage.
Small playground in the basement for the kids.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jensen's Bofhus also viewed

Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 
Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 

Been to Jensen's Bofhus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jensen's Bofhus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.