We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place but average food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hindsgavl Slot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hindsgavl Slot to your Saves list
Hindsgavl Slot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hindsgavl Alle 7, Middelfart 5500, Denmark (Formerly "Tulip Inn")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Middelfart
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful place but average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hindsgavl Slot is a very beautiful eighteenth century country house hotel: the main building is very sympathetically converted, and the park is lovely. The rooms are in converted barns, and have modern decor: brick walls, big rain shower, very comfortable beds. The park has a great view over the fjord, with mature trees and gardens, and a very attractive swimming bridge (the water was crisp but very nice to swim in). We had a very nice drink on the terrace in the evening sun. All this was a five star experience. But we were staying during their annual music festival, and were on a special deal that included dinner. The dinner was catering standard only:like a wedding, but less delicious. A pity, as this could be a really fine hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear 'Lyfliyfhv'


Thank you for your comment. We are sorry that you had a bad experience regarding the dinner.

Despite the experience, we hope you'll return another time.


Kind regards
Hindsgavl Slot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    49
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
75
1
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

What an experience. After arrival we had a drink at the backside terrace of the great ‘Slot’ overlooking the garden and lake. This place makes you feel King or Queen; it is all very impressive and well done. We had a six course meal and wine that was an unforgettable experience it was all very balanced and spot on. Service was professional and experienced; they took time to explain the (relevant) details of the meal showing interest in what they served. The breakfast was in one of the huge converted barns, perhaps a bit too big but of the same high standard. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Make sure you select either a classic room or a modern room, they are both available and both very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Pim D


Thank you for your comment.

You are very welcome another time - we hope you'll feel like a king & his queen again. :)


Kind regards
Hindsgavl Slot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Motoring our way through Denmark from Sweden on our way to Germany. Middelfart seemed to be the perfect stopping point. Boy am I glad we chose this place. The town itself is not much to write home about but this hotel i fabulous! The pictures on the web site don't do it justice. Everything here is in tip top shape. The attention to detail is amazing.

Ask to stay in the newly renovated "svinstia" (pigs sty) rooms if you like modern. Brick walls, stone floor and great lighting. But best of all is the round brick shower with a rain shower. Best water pressure ever. I got drenched!

Food in the restaurant is just as they describe, fresh, organic and served by a very attentive staff.

The castle grounds are in the middle of a nature reserve and there all kinds of walking and hiking trails, bikes are available if you want to go further off. On a warmer day it would be possible to swim in the sea but not on our stay. Golf at nearby Lille Baelte golf club was a great experience. Great course and pretty challenging on a windy day like we had.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Ms. 'BaltimOreRed'


Thank you for your comment.

You are very welcome another time.!


Kind regards
Hindsgavl Slot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had the opportunity to visit this little excellent hotel while on business in Denmark. What stands out is the picturesque environment, excellent food and friendly atmosphere. Rooms are small but well equipped and nicely decorated (modern or classic style available, I got the latter). There's no gym or swimming pool available, but if you can shift that to a morning run in the amazing garden and round this off with a swim on the beach, this is the choice for you.

I'd love to come back.

Room Tip: Your choice of contemporary or classic castle style. Fitness and Swimming refers to outdoor nature e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine A, Gæsteansvarlig at Hindsgavl Slot, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Emil

Thank you for your comment.

You are very welcome another time.!

Kind regards
Hindsgavl Slot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The rooms are quite different as they are brick walls and warm. the showers are round and unique. The rooms have a pleasant view. the grounds afford a great opportunity to walk quietly. Dinner was excellent and staff very accommodating. Breakfast was served int he great house and was opulent without being pretentious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It was a love dreamy summer day when we arrived, and we got a fantastic room in the "svinestall". I loved it so much I have even used it as inspiration for decorating our basement at home. The food was great and the breakfast was nice. We stayed for two nights on half board and had dinner in the barn the first night and the castle the second night.

There were only 2 surprising moments of our stay. The bar area was very un-charming and unmanned most of the time. There were plenty of people ringing the bell and waiting to get an order in, but everyone had to wait for quite some time to get a drink. And after having our dinner and paying for a quite pricey wine package they charged us DKK 54 for a single cup of coffe. I have no idea how strange we thought that was. needless to say - we declined the offer of coffe our second night.

Go, enjoy the park surrounding the castle as well as the game park. It's very exciting to get so close to living wild animals living in a natual envoronment.

Room Tip: At the end of the "svinestall towards the court yard"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We travel by car between Britain and Sweden on a regular basis, and we have tried different routes. This time we decided to go 'over the bridges' and we found this hotel chance and by checking it up on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed, and it is a place we'll definitely return to.

It is a castle from the beginning of the 19th century, where the main building serves as the reception area, bar, restaurant and breakfast room. There are also conference facilities here and it seemed to us like it was a popular place for companies to take their employees for conferences. There were some examples of this when we were there but the place is so large that it did not feel in the least crowded.

The hotel rooms are in what must have been the old economy buildings, stables, etc. The contrast between the traditional exterior and the ultra-modern interior. Our room had all the best of Danish modern design, including a rather nice round shower. The room was quiet, had a comfortable bed and a good desk. There was free wi-fi, and it worked well and fast even though we were quite some way from the main building. The sitting furniture looked forbidding but turned out to be the right shape for sitting on. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, which we always appreciate.

As we don't like leaving our dog alone in a hotel room when we're travelling, we could not eat in the restaurant, but room service was available. We ordered a main course, a bottle of wine, a dessert and coffee. The main course was delivered within 30 minutes to our room (fresh and newly cooked) and we were told that they would bring our dessert and coffee when we phoned up to say we were ready for it, as our coffee would otherwise not be fresh when we wanted it. And this in a place where they had to carry it over a large yard for at least 200 metres, and it was done with a smile! And the food was much better than what you would expect from room service.

Breakfast was included in our price, and it was well worth having. It was a buffet breakfast with both hot and cold options. The coffee was good, as was the tea. The only minus we could find was that you could not get 'normal' unscented black tea.

There was a large park and other surroundings with a view over the water, old trees and interesting planting. There was also the remains of the first 12th century castle, a large kitchen garden, lots of birds and other animals to look at. Both humans and canine appreciated their surroundings, and we went for rather longer walks than normal both in the evenin. There were a lot of boards telling you about the history of the place, but unfortunately this was only in Danish, but there was info to be had in the reception area.

The hotel was not budget priced, but it lived up to expectations and more. It is a hotel we will return to and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hindsgavl Slot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindsgavl Slot

Address: Hindsgavl Alle 7, Middelfart 5500, Denmark (Formerly "Tulip Inn")
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Middelfart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Middelfart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hindsgavl Slot 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hindsgavl Slot er kontrasternes slot. Her kan du opleve en enestaende kombination af et klassisk slot, et moderne hotel og et nuanceret dansk slotskokken. De unikke rammer for ophold, ferie og fest holdes i haevd af et personale, der er drevet af en faelles ambition om at gore dit ophold til en ganske saerlig oplevelse. Pa Hindsgavl Slot kan vi lide at gore tingene ordentligt og helt fra bunden. Derfor har vi bl.A. Vores egen kokken- og krydderurtehave i slotsparken, som forsyner vores slotskokken, nar arstiden tillader det. Vores hang til perfektionisme byder os ogsa at ga i detaljer; f.Eks. Er vi af den overbevisning, at jordbaer skal spises om sommeren og vildt helst om efteraret. Vi ser frem til at byde velkommen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hindsgavl Slot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hindsgavl Slot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.