We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, tranquil, fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Vestergade 44

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pension Vestergade 44 to your Saves list
Pension Vestergade 44
Vestergade 44 | Ærøskøbing, Aero 5970, Denmark   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Aero B&B and Inns
Accra, Ghana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Charming, tranquil, fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It took us a long time to get to Ærø -- a trip that included planes, trains, a ferry and shlepping some heavy suitcases up the hill of this lovely town -- so we were very glad to receive a warm welcome from Susanna, which included tea, lemonade and biscuits in her gorgeous garden. Susanna's hospitality was sincere -- we felt like guests rather than customers.

The historic and quirky home creaks with history. Originally built for a sailor's daughter, each room is lovingly and tastefully decorated in a classic style. Walking into the library and hearing the "tock tock" of the grandfather clock, I felt transported to an earlier century.

We stayed in the Red Room overlooking the garden, and we could not have asked for a nicer view. The bed was cozy and we slept wonderfully.

Susanna's breakfasts are sumptuous and delicious, and included fresh Danish rolls, tea, juice, cheese, fruit and hard-boiled eggs. There was always plenty left over. Susanna leaves bags in the breakfast room for her guests to pack rolls, cheese and fruit for lunch (as there aren't many restaurants on the island).

We had unknowingly arrived on a holiday weekend (Whitsunday/monday -- not celebrated in our home country). That meant almost all businesses were closed. We were worried we would not get to do what we really wanted -- rent bicycles and ride around the island. But Susanna knows everyone on Ærø. She made a phone call and persuaded her friend to open her bike rental shop for us. As we encountered island residents during our bicycle tour, they asked us where we were staying. When we told them "Pension Vestergade," they all said to say hello to their "dear friend Susanna."

As I mentioned, the garden is a stunningly beautiful refuge. It was the most peaceful place we visited during our vacation. What a lovely place to rest, sip some tea and enjoy the long rays of the sun filtering through the trees.

As we were departing (having already boarded the ferry), Susanna appeared with an envelope for me. She had accidentally overcharged us, and she hurried all the way down to the harbor and on to the boat to make sure we got our money back. We were so grateful for both her honesty and the effort.

I cannot recommend Pension Vestergade more highly. It exceeded all our expectations, and definitely deserves the TripAdvisor People's Choice Award.

Room Tip: The Red Room is the largest and suitable for small families (we were two adults and a child). It al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a splendid experience! We spent two delightful days and nights at Pension Vestergade 44 and could not have been happier with our stay. Susanna is a superb hostess: attentive, caring, full of great suggestions, and ready to help in any way she can to ensure you have a terrific visit. The B&B was elegant, cozy, relaxed, and artfully decorated. It is well located for exploring this charming island and just up the street from the boat landing. Although the bathrooms are shared, there were plenty of them and this did not prove a problem at all. We loved everything about the house and gardens - so much to explore in the house itself! The breakfasts were delicious and healthful, and we appreciated Susanna's encouragement in packing a picnic lunch. Our stay was a highlight of our trip to Denmark. Ærø is a magical place and this guest house adds to the very special experience. Do not miss it! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We loved the Red Room facing the garden; the Gold Room across the hall was also beautiful and glowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I'm not one to write reviews, but for this wonderful place I feel compelled to contribute. From the moment we walked in we felt welcome and pampered by our host Susanna. This was to be our home for 4 days while we got acquainted with Aero and we could tell right away that we made the right choice. Our room was light, cozy, comfortable, clean and very private feeling. Breakfasts were tasty, with lots of variety including fresh fruit, eggs, cheese, meat, breads and cereals. We were even encouraged to take a few items for a picnic lunch, which we did. Susanna is a delight and was always available to help with suggestions for exploring the island, assist with logistics and make a quick call for dinner reservations. The location is ideal for easy walking access around the town and it is a short walk to the (free!) buses for accessing other areas of the island. In short, we couldn't have been happier and when we travel again to Aero there is no doubt we will stay at Pension Vestergade 44.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hude, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Thank you so much Susanna, a beautiful charming room, an amazing breakfast there was even marmite on hand.. staying with you made our wedding weekend extra special and we cant thank you enough for your hospitality, the best guest house we have ever stayed in the world and the afternoon English tea was divine. Anybody staying at Pension 44 will not be dissapointed and neither my wife and me could not recommend a better place to stay whilst visiting the wonderful island of Aero. We will be back in the future to celebrate our aniversary and for sure we will stay here again, Already looking forward to it....

Room Tip: Any of the rooms, all are individual and superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

A cosy retreat from the modern world , although Wifi is available and free of charge. Old fashioned and wobbly but furnished with care, a nice breakfast and fantastic garden to sit out in. Not the last time we will visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Susanna the owner makes you feel at home for the moment you arrive. The building dates back to 1784 and the place is so quaint. We were a couple with an adult child and we had the attic floor.
Two nice rooms with a bath and the room in between was the open attic- quite unusual but added
to the charm. Easy to reach on the main cobblestoned street right up the street from the ferry dock. She helped us with bike rental information and general island knowledge. It was a wonderful
adventure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Everything about this pension was just wonderful. All the rooms are full of handpicked artifacts and unique. The spirit of this cosy place with a revering history can be felt throughout the house. The owner is just lovely and very attentive and made us feel so welcome and special.
She is also an art expert and the whole house is full of wonderful artworks.

We stayed in one of the rooms at the attic and the view was incredible. We had a shared bathroom with the only other room on the attic which made it easy to time the 'shifts'.

The breakfast was also very delicious and we were amused by the beautiful house dog.

This place will always be in our memory as our first doorstep as newly wedded husband and wife! It really was perfect place to be if you are in fond of traditions, timeless values and beauty.

Room Tip: every room is absolutely unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Vestergade 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Vestergade 44

Address: Vestergade 44 | Ærøskøbing, Aero 5970, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Aero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Aero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Pension Vestergade 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Vestergade 44, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.