We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aegli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aegli to your Saves list
Hotel Aegli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Argonauton 24, Volos 38222, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Volos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Modern and perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We needed a hotel for one night whilst travelling to the islands, having stayed here before (a few years ago) we knew that the location was perfect for the ferries. The hotel has had a complete refurb and is clean, light and modern with friendly and helpful staff. Spent a very comfortable night and had a nice breakfast before catching the ferry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Palace H, Διευθυντής at Hotel Aegli, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for choosing us for your stay in Volos.
We are glad to hear your positive feedback.
We wish that we will have the opportunity to host you again in Hotel Aegli in the near future!

The Hotel Aegli team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    63
    12
    10
    4
See reviews for
25
65
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is very suitable for a city trip-tour.
It is located near the city port and the center-market.
All rooms are refurbished, modern-decorated and spotless.
The staff are very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Prefer a sea-view room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Palace H, Διευθυντής at Hotel Aegli, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your preference in Hotel Aegli and for the time dedicated to write a review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you in our hotel again in the future.

The Hotel Aegli team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

the Aegli was recently refurbished and it's very stilish. Situated on the seaside facing the port it offers quiet elegant rooms and good breakfast for a reasonable price. Free internet connection. Recommended for those travelling to the Sporades or for a longer stay in Volos

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Unfortunately, my experience had nothing to do with what I read in Tripadvisor's reviews. I guess that the double room in the third floor that I stayed was not renovated and certainly not well designed. No balcony for me, only a small window that left no light to the room. The bathroom was extremely small, one could hardly wash his hands. Although there was no outside noise, I could clearly hear the next room flushing the toilet after midnight.
However, the lobby looked an interesting place to be, and breakfast was tasty.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at the Aegli Palace hotel in mid September for business. I had a double room on the second floor, which was small, but had a large balcony at the side of the hotel (only a few of the rooms have balconies though). The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms were very well designed to fully take advantage of the available space - indeed, the bathroom door was designed so as to avoid taking up space! The rooms were air-conditioned with double glazed windows, which was very good as the area is quite humid and just opening the window does not help that much (plus, there are mosquitoes outside, so make sure you get a mosquito repelling device from the reception). Housekeeping was excellent, everything was perfectly cleaned. The TV had some international programming. The complimentary WiFi operated well for all kinds of use.

Breakfast was served in an oddly shaped area (basically three joined rooms) and, unusually for Greece and the class of the hotel, included hot items. Everything was good quality and replenished quickly, and while the buffet was small, it handled a large tourist group that all went together for breakfast. Overall, very good value for money.

The hotel is located right on the passenger harbor and about a 10 minute walk from the train and bus stations. The area around the hotel is pay-to-park, and it's hard to find a spot anyway - if you have a car, you'd do better to use one the parking at the harbor for longer durations, or just park your card further inland where parking is free (allow for a 10 minute walk for this). The promenade in front of the harbor is full of restaurants and cafes, but they mostly cater to the temporary visitor. There are two streets running parallel to the harbor forming the center of Volos, and there plenty of choices there for everything. The traditional restaurants are mostly located next to the train station while the modern cafes are located on a street at right angles to the harbor a few blocks away from the hotel. I found that I could walk anywhere to central Volos in less than 15 minutes, without needing a car or public transport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable hotel with nice room. Simply but complete breakfast. My room also had a nice view on the sea port. The location is perfect to take the boats for islands. In conclusion I advice that place in Volos

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Excelent hotel,luxurious,very friendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast very tasty and probably one of the best.
Everything is very new.
I will definitely go back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aegli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aegli

Address: Argonauton 24, Volos 38222, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Volos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aegli 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Aegli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aegli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.